Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Fresh figs are already so sweet, next time I make these cookies I will use less sugar. Even half a cup should be plenty. Also next time I will replace shortening with butter. I added poppy seeds to the batter and they were a nice additional touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Yum! I had never cooked with fresh figs and my neighbor came over with a dozen of them for me. I used this recipe for about 1/2 of them. They are very light and cakey. The cookie is not super sweet, which I actually liked. I changed a few things. I didn't have shortening so I used butter since it was such a small amount and they turned out fine. I also didn't have cloves on hand so I used a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg. Like others who reviewed this recipe, I was making these for my kids so I omitted the nuts and added a 1/3 of a bag of dark chocolate chips. Very easy recipe, I will be making a second batch with the other figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
These turned out great! First time eating fresh figs and I liked it a lot more than I thought I would. I didn't have cloves so I just sprinkled some cinnamon in there. They were a little crispy on the outside, but still chewy. Only cooked for about 13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These cookies are really good. I had been given a huge bowl of fresh figs, so I had to try something. The only change I made was to substitute half of the cloves for cinnamon. I also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Don't let the texture of the dough scare you before you add the figs and nuts. It is really dry and crumbly until the moisture of the figs does it's magic. I also had to play with the time. I started with 10 minutes and ended up baking for about 14 minutes. Definitely not 20 minutes!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Had too many figs and needed to do something with them. This almost reminded me of a sugar cookie with figs and walnuts. Decent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany
Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I followed the recipe and made them into bars. I used butter flavored shortening, which i highly recommend. I had a heaping cup of ripe fresh figs. The dough was dry until I added my fig mush, and then it was perfect. Very moist figgy bars! Both my husband and I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
These cookies are wonderful!! I used canned figs. Drained off the syrup & did the figs in food processer. I had to add a bit of the syrup to cookie mix. Hubby loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My fiancee and I loved this recipe! I added blueberries and fresh ground nutmeg. I also substituted the walnuts for hazelnuts. Very fresh and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
So I also change the recipe a bit. I did 1/2 of sugar/splenda blend No shortning 2 cups of oatmeal to replace the flour 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to replace the cloves and cook for about 9 to 10 minutes in a convection. I put everything in a food processor too, my kids are very observant and wouldnt eat the cookies if they saw the figs or walnuts. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Not bad taste but NO fig taste...maybe because I didn't peel the figs first.... not what I expected but again very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States