Fresh Fig Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I substituted white sugar for brown sugar, butter instead of shortening, cinnamon instead of cloves and also added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence and a small amount of choc chips! Tasted amazing! I also tried half the mixture in small friand mould. Some I put too much mixture in and the top became brittle but awesome result of the 'body' of the friand. I say only half fill the mould!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This makes great muffin tops and muffins. Next time I would add about 1/2 cup more figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I"m only doing 4 stars because of the changes that I made to the recipe based on other's reviews & my preferences. I received a bunch of fresh figs from my former MIL, and I didn't have the heart to tell her that I don't usually care for figs - so I needed to do something with them that didn't taste or "feel" too figgy! I tried this recipe, making the following changes: instead of butter or shortening, I used applesauce (to reduce fat/calories), used half the sugar, ran the figs through my food processer (so the figs were more of a puree than chopped), and did half cloves/half cinnamon, plus added a dash of vanilla and a pinch of allspice. My cookies were very moist, chewy and sort of cake-like - but very, very good! I now know what to make if I get any more figs - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Loved the recipe! I've had a fig tree for years and wasn't sure what to do with them. So glad I found this recipe! As one review suggested, I added chocolate chips. Also cut down sugar to 3/4C and did 1/4tsp cinnamon and 1/4tsp cloves. Husband not big on cloves, may try to omit next time. Fig flavor very subtle, may try adding more figs on the next batch. Loved the texture, had no problems with the batter at all before adding figs. Made smaller spoonfuls and cut baking time to 11min. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were great. There aren't many simple recipes for fresh figs so I was happy to find this one. I took them to a church potluck and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I didn't love this recipe. I have a fig tree and am always looking for good ways to use them, but these cookies are just OK. Mainly, it's the texture I don't like, which isn't very cookie-ish, and it also didn't have a ton of flavor, even though I added cinnamon and nutmeg in addition to the cloves. It wasn't terrible, I just don't think it lives up to the 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I don't like figs alone but have a fig tree in the yard, so I was happy to find this recipe. Great! Like Marymaybe mentioned above, I used half cloves, half cinnamon. In my opinion, EVERYTHING tastes better with chocolate, and I'm not a nut fan, so I substituted chocolate chips instead of the nuts. YUM! And like someone else above mentioned, make smaller cookies and they come out better / are easier to handle. Great cookies! Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Yum! Try this variation: I omited the cloves and walnuts and added 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and 1/2 cup chopped almond bark (about the size of chocolate chips). The kids can't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These are surprisingly wonderful!!! Batter is very dry (had me worried!) until you put in the chopped figs; then it's perfect! Omitted nuts and did 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. cloves as several suggested. Made small and baked 12 minutes...great way to use fresh figs. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Loved these. I got some figs in my fruit and vegie box this week and went searching for a recipe to use the fresh figs in, what a winner I found. The only addition I made was to add a teaspoon of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States