Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Easy to make! Just made the cake: I had bought frozen Smyrna figs and defrosted and chopped six, that with some of the liquid from defrosting made one cup. Since I didn't have almond extract I added 1/4 cup sliced almonds. Bake in a 9x12" pan for the same time and let cool, had leftover chocolate frosting from another baking project and used that instead of making the fig topping. This will be made again and again, will be trying the topping next time and layers for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
It's excellent. First time, followed it exactly. Came out perfect. Second time, didn't have fresh figs so used canned figs. It was good but hands down fresh figs is the better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Besada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I had a basket of purple figs, looked for a recipe and found this. Once I gathered all the ingredients it took only about 20 minutes to put it together. I substituted mashed banana instead of butter and used a rectangular pan instead of two round cake pans. I did not make the filling, as some reviews said it was too sweet. I served it for dessert, my family and my company loved this cake. I used one cup of chopped figs, I think I could have used a few more figs. It was so good that I think I will try this with peaches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious. I did not have enough figs so I added strawberry preserves. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natahnya Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Sweet, flavorful and moist! I used green Kadota figs in the cake, and Black Mission figs for the sauce/compote, and baked it in a single 10-inch springform pan. Served with a bit of freshly whipped cream, it is a lovely combination of sweet and creamy, and worthy of serving to company. It's quick and easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made a mistake and put the 1/4 cup brown sugar in the batter which made it a little hard to get out of the pan. Otherwise this recipe is perfect. Don't change a thing! I'm not sure if everyone did this but I put the fig topping on while everything was still warm. Super moist cake. Delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Brown Pickett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lxmonge
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe except I baked it in a bundt pan for 50 minutes. The cake was delicious! My kids and boyfriend devoured it!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is really great! I made it gluten free by substituting in all purpose GF flour and 1 tsp xanthum gum (of course, you need GF almond and vanilla extract as well). This cake tastes like a fig newton, but in cake form! Really yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crisarlin
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I substituted some ingredients of this recipient to make it dairy and gluten free. I used gluten free all purpose flour, coconut milk and coconut sugar. The cake came out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crisarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
outstanding....i was a little hesitant about no icing, and a gooey fig spread on top, but wow, it was delicious. only thing i changed was using splenda blend vs sugar, as my husband is diabetic. he loved this cake, too. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States