Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
My family enjoyed this simple cake using fresh figs, not always easy to find uses or recipes for them and I have a good source so I appreciated the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This recipe makes a moist, though somewhat dense, cake. The batter is as easy to create as anything out of a box--in other words, very easy! So that's good if you have lots of figs and not much time. We ended up splitting the layers, toasting them in the toaster oven, and adding butter, to eat the cake like a slab of a scone. Amazingly good with your morning coffee. Next time I will make a lighter batter, probably substituting oil for the butter, and I will puree the figs (and double the amount to 2 cups in the batter!) with a little of the evapourated milk before blending the figs with the batter. That would change this recipe from something of a coffee cake or scone-like creation to more of an after dinner cake, which is more what I'm looking for. Again, it's a good recipe, wonderfully sweet and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This was a wonderfully moist and fruity cake that we really enjoyed -- reminiscent of holiday fruitcake. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
Absolutely wonderful! It's great in the morning with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
My family asked me what kind of cake I wanted for my birthday. I suspect they were thinking of "chocolate" as the correct answer. When I said "a cake with figs in it" they were forced to turn to the 'Net for a recipe. This was the recipe and it turned out great! Try it on your loved one for an unusual surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I made this yesterday & today it's here on "Recipes of the Day!" My neighbor just gave us a sack full of figs & I didn't know what to do with them! This cake is really good- I used a 13x9 pan. I didn't use the icing since I wasn't doing a layer cake- I used Caramel Frosting VI. (with no nuts) It was good too- although I would have liked a little more- next time I will use 1 1/2 times as much. My son REALLY loved it. Next time I also might puree the figs first & maybe use 2 cups. (I used a heaping cup of chopped.) Thanks for submitting- & thanks to my neighbor, Leroy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Near my home I came across a fig tree on what once was a market garden area. There were so many figs both fallen and on this tree I brought them home and then went on the net to see what we could do with them. This recipe was just so lovely we returned for more figs over several weeks. Even cut up and froze pieces for later. Such a moist and flavoursome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
this cake is very good. ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve's
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Great cake for using fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this cake 2 days ago for a bunch of fig fanatics. Everyone went wild over it. It is not overly sweet and a very pleasant ending to a meal. I will definitley be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States