Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
wonderfully moist; added pumpkin pie spice, splenda/sugar blend, 50/50smart balance, extra figs; decorated top with flower shaped cut fig; best cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalamazoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I followed another reviewers advice, to blend the figs and added a very ripe plum. I replaced the butter with olive oil. I also used half whole wheat flour/half white flour. Very moist and fruity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This cake is scone-like and delicious. I've made it with both yellow-skinned, brown centered figs and green skinned, red-centered figs and its equaly good. (green ones are more mellow but the yellow has nice sharp figgy flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALEYANA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Low sugar - I made the cake alone with no filling and used 2 cups of figs, artificial brown sugar and 1/3 the white sugar. It came out a bit doughy, but as a low/no sugar eater, I enjoyed it, but next time I'll just use the figs in my low sugar zucchini bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Ok, I don't understand what happened with my cake . . . cakes. I followed the recipe to the T and did not get the results everyone got. Like every one says it is an easy and quick batter however both times the cake looked beautiful on the outside, the toothpick came out clean, yet when I cut it the inside was gummy and it tasted raw. I did this recipe twice thinking the first time the bundt cake pans I used (only thing I modified) were to thick. Than I tried the 8 inch rounds and it was also bad. I am so disappointed because the cake had potential. Can it be the type of figs I used? Who know, the filling on the other hand made for a good marmalade, so that did not go to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
An excellent way to use fresh figs. No matter what time I make it, this cake is not around long enough to see the next sunrise. I think the variable juiciness of fresh figs may give different results each time, so you have to be flexible when making it. I leave out the water in the fig topping and use a little more lemon juice, sometimes some zest. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Although this cake did not come out quite right when I made it, it still tasted delicious. I suspect most of my problem was taking the advice of other reviewers. As I wanted more of a dessert cake than a coffee cake, I took the advice of the two reviewers who suggested increasing from 1 to 2 cups of chopped figs in the batter and pureeing those figs with the evaporated milk before adding to the batter. Unfortunately, this made the batter so dense, the layers hardly rose. Plus, I burned the outer edges and bottom while trying to get the middle to cook. Every time I stuck a toothpick in the middle, it came out with crumbs so I kept baking until I realized I'd ruin the cake if I kept going. I had to cut off the sides and bottoms to get rid of the burnt areas while the middle was still mildly soft. I don't think pureeing the figs is such a bad idea, but I'd leave it at 1 cup in the batter, not 2. I still made the filling/topping, layered the cake with it, and just cut the cake into bars so as not to waste it. Despite all my troubles, the bars were still delicious. I'd definitely make this cake again, but will stick closer to the original recipe and ignore the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Good flavor, but it was gummy textured. It was better after sitting in the fridge for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shesinparties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe sounded delicious however when I made it it seemed more like a biscuit than a cake. Fig preserves on a biscuit taste great but I was expecting a more moist cake than I got. I'm going to keep trying different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
We found it a bit dry but it's maybe an operator's error. Anyway, it's a good cake but nothing out of this world, I was expecting more taste from a fresh fig cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States