Fresh Fig Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Delicious. I did not have enough figs so I added strawberry preserves. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natahnya Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Sweet, flavorful and moist! I used green Kadota figs in the cake, and Black Mission figs for the sauce/compote, and baked it in a single 10-inch springform pan. Served with a bit of freshly whipped cream, it is a lovely combination of sweet and creamy, and worthy of serving to company. It's quick and easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Korpak Bechtel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made a mistake and put the 1/4 cup brown sugar in the batter which made it a little hard to get out of the pan. Otherwise this recipe is perfect. Don't change a thing! I'm not sure if everyone did this but I put the fig topping on while everything was still warm. Super moist cake. Delish! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Brown Pickett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lxmonge
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe except I baked it in a bundt pan for 50 minutes. The cake was delicious! My kids and boyfriend devoured it!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is really great! I made it gluten free by substituting in all purpose GF flour and 1 tsp xanthum gum (of course, you need GF almond and vanilla extract as well). This cake tastes like a fig newton, but in cake form! Really yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crisarlin
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I substituted some ingredients of this recipient to make it dairy and gluten free. I used gluten free all purpose flour, coconut milk and coconut sugar. The cake came out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crisarlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
outstanding....i was a little hesitant about no icing, and a gooey fig spread on top, but wow, it was delicious. only thing i changed was using splenda blend vs sugar, as my husband is diabetic. he loved this cake, too. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very good cake. A nice way to use up all those figs. I pretty much stuck to the recipe. Made cake in a bundt pan, very nice presentation when sliced. Filling sat perfectly in the middle of cake. The only ingredient I changed was using a squeeze of orange instead of lemon juice in the filling....didn't realize I was out of lemons! It didn't seem to make a difference. Big hit everyone devoured it at work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen S
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Delicious way to use some of these figs we are getting right now. I did double the sugar in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this using white wheat flour, egg replacer, coconut oil, and canned coconut milk and it turned out great, despite being vegan-ized :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Gluten-Free Red Velvet Cake

A wheat-free red velvet cake with soft texture and yummy chocolate flavor.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States