Fresh Dill Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
My FIL brought up shrimp salad last week, and when he brought it up, it sounded so good to me. It used to be my favorite dish. We bought the ingredients and they cost about $22.00, however, we have a slew of fresh produce and pasta left over for another meal. Considering the spaghetti dish the other night cost much more at the store, I was happy. My husband demands Miracle Whip, so we did not use the mayo. I added another can of shrimp, cut back on the lemon, used dried dill (1/2 Tb) and only used 1 tomato, and 1 medium cuke. It's a nice medley of taste and texture. I could have added more dill, but know that the dish will age over the next two hours, and the 1/2 Tb will be sufficient. Thanks for sharing this recipe, and I hope to find many more recipes to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Lots of fresh dill really added to the yum factor of this salad :-d Since I didn't have shrimp, I used salad-style imitation lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is good recipe but use frozen shrimp not canned! If possible, AVOID shrimp that has been peeled and deveined before freezing. It may cause a loss of flavor and texture (the shells help to protect the meat of the shrimp). I used an entire bag of U36/40 sized shrimp b/c I like a bigger shrimp in my salads. I adjusted the quantities of the veggies in the recipe to 1 c. of celery, 1 c. of cucumber, 4 small tomatoes (which I seeded) and 5 TBS of shallots. I would recommend Farfalle (bow tie) pasta instead of shells and I used more like 12 oz. Shells just seems to trap dressing which can be good or bad depending on your sensibilities. I adjusted the dressing too by adding a TBS of Worchestershire sauce and more dill but quantity wise there was plenty of dressing even with the increases in veggies and pasta. This salad needs generous amounts of salt and pepper but all in all it's very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
This was pretty good. Not as good as the deli near my house, though. I used the small canned shrimp, as per recipe, and they were miniscule. I would definitely go with a larger shrimp next time. Also, when I was making the dressing, I thought a cup of mayo was going to be too much, so I started with a half a cup (left everything else the same), and it was perfect. I also ommited the tomatoes, because I didn't think they'd last well in the salad after the first day. One last thing, I'm not sure how much I liked the lemon in this. I love lemon, but if you plan to eat the salad right away, the lemon is over-powering. After a day or two, it's much better. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This is a wonderful salad. I didn't care for the shrimp but I can see that seafood would be wonderful in this dish. I will try it again but make a protein substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I used fresh everything from my greenhouse (dill, cukes, tomatoes, onions) and made this for an annual BBQ at my home. FANTASTIC flavor. I used LOTS of bigger shrimp instead of canned ones. Also, the amount of dressing was perfect for a batch and a half (my box of pasta was 13oz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was excellent! I used 1/2 c. fat free plain yogurt and 1/2 c. low fat mayo instead of 1 c. mayo. I used the larger frozen shrimp and cut them in 1/2. Next time, I'll use grape tomatoes, cut in half. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I did enjoy this, but it lacked a little "something", not sure what. Maybe more dill and lemon? Or maybe some celery salt and more black pepper? Definitely a recipe that could EASILY be tweeked to personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Between reading the reviews and my own experience, I found this clearly is a recipe that needs to be worked with to get it to suit your tastes - and I guess I "worked" with it a lot. For me, I found it a tad heavy on the mayonnaise and light on the seasoning. I added Jane's Krazy Mixed Up Salt, Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning and a fair amount of salt and pepper, which definitely helped brighten the flavor. As for the too much mayo issue, I'm hoping it might be better tomorrow after it has a chance to set overnight and absorb some of the excess. Further, I agree with other reviewers on a couple of points - one, that the tomato isn't a good choice, particularly if this is going to be made ahead of time, so I left it out - but I threw in some frozen peas instead, which I feel is a far better choice. I also agree that farfalle (pasta in the shape of bow ties) is a nice choice, so I used that instead of the seashell pasta, not that it wouldn't have been good too. Canned shrimp is kind of salty and mushy, so I used frozen, pre-cooked shrimp instead. I used fresh green onion instead of the shallots because I believe the taste and bite of the shallots would have been overpowering. The recipe on its own is perhaps a good base recipe or, if left as it stands, fairly nondescript and ordinary. Four stars with changes like mine, or your own that appeal to you and your tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Pretty good! I added more dill, did not use a full cup of mayo, and doubled the amount of the veggies. I also added some chopped pickles for a nice zinggy crunch. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States