Fresh Dill Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Is better the next day... I kept trying a bite here and there the day I made it and the flavor was odd. I added 1/4 C diced onion and 1 T Worchester sauce for more flavor and it turned out wonderful. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmw1018
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
If you tweek the basic ingredients to your taste and use frozen shrimp, it's a delicious seafood salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This salad had a good flavor but was not a knockout. I used frozen shrimp instead of the canned. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this for a football tailgate and everyone loved it. It went great with our burgers and hot dogs. It's the 2nd time I've made it and I'll definitely make it for other events. I might even make it again and keep it for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this in a hurry and let it chill for a couple hours and with a couple alterations it was pretty good. I used tuna instead of shrimp as it was what I had on hand. Also skipped the cucumber and tomato. Otherwise followed it and everyone was really happy. I likely used double the dill as I wasn't using a measuring cup but more dill is so so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This Recipe Caught My Eye As I Was Looking For A Nice Side To Go With some Halibut .! Whipped It Up In Just A Few Minutes ...Quick , Very Tasty ....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made this as written, but next time I would change a few things. I would double the pasta, double the dressing, double the shrimp and double everything else because you just want more and more! Thanks for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this salad for our branding and everyone wants me to bring it to theirs. I make it with the Bow Tie noodles. I make the salad a day ahead of time and make extra dressing because it absorbs into the salad. I also add the tomatoes the next day. I use the big frozen shrimp instead of canned. I thought it needed a little something and all that was some celery salt! It just gets better and better the longer it sets so I am thinking about making it a couple days ahead of time! There is not too much of anything so I don't know what anyone is complaining about....must not like mayo! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Pretty good! I added more dill, did not use a full cup of mayo, and doubled the amount of the veggies. I also added some chopped pickles for a nice zinggy crunch. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Between reading the reviews and my own experience, I found this clearly is a recipe that needs to be worked with to get it to suit your tastes - and I guess I "worked" with it a lot. For me, I found it a tad heavy on the mayonnaise and light on the seasoning. I added Jane's Krazy Mixed Up Salt, Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning and a fair amount of salt and pepper, which definitely helped brighten the flavor. As for the too much mayo issue, I'm hoping it might be better tomorrow after it has a chance to set overnight and absorb some of the excess. Further, I agree with other reviewers on a couple of points - one, that the tomato isn't a good choice, particularly if this is going to be made ahead of time, so I left it out - but I threw in some frozen peas instead, which I feel is a far better choice. I also agree that farfalle (pasta in the shape of bow ties) is a nice choice, so I used that instead of the seashell pasta, not that it wouldn't have been good too. Canned shrimp is kind of salty and mushy, so I used frozen, pre-cooked shrimp instead. I used fresh green onion instead of the shallots because I believe the taste and bite of the shallots would have been overpowering. The recipe on its own is perhaps a good base recipe or, if left as it stands, fairly nondescript and ordinary. Four stars with changes like mine, or your own that appeal to you and your tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States