Fresh Corn and Tomato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This recipe is the bomb. We changed it up a little bit though. Used canned corn and canned tomatoes. Added some ranch dressing to the top and some mexican cheese. It ended up being amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe with grilled hamburgers last night. All fresh, with tomatoes straight from the garden. Reviews indicated "tough" tomato skins prepared this way, so I peeled and diced them, draining some of the juices as I went along. I was in a rush, so I just mixed the tomatoes in with the corn and bacon, rather than layering it all. Sprinkled some Parmesan on top before baking, covered. As a side note, I had 6 ears of corn, and it yielded 7 heaping cups -- not "4 or 5 cups." That was fine -- more "goodness" to eat. This is one of those wonderful recipes that you can play with and add various spices and other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I've been getting fresh corn from the farmer's market (ewww, to the worms) and using my husband's heirloom tomatoes and I love this. The 2nd time I made this I added black pepper, fresh parsley and 2 green onions to the skillet along with the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Oh, my goodness! I have tried many recipes from allrecipes but this is by far the very best dish I have made and I have to be honest, while I love both corn and tomatoes I never would have thought of using them together in a dish this way. I really can't say enough good things about it but I ll try with a few: every bite tastes like a little bit of summer in your mouth. So good. I made it exactly as written with 2 exceptions. I added pepper and 2 sliced green onions which I layered along with the tomatoes and corn. Oh, and I did not melt the butter beforehand, just put it in the skillet with the corn to cook briefly as recommended. I guess that makes 3 things I did slightly differently but I just thought of one more: I only made 2 layers and I did not wind up with tomatoes, but sprinkled remaining corn/green onions on top. Oh, yeah. I almost forgot that I only baked it for like 25 minutes and that was plenty of time. My husband loved it and I will definitely be making this dish again. We only had a small amount left over (which I had for lunch the next day), so I would say this would feed 2-3 people. What a perfect dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Poston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Tasty new twist to corn. We really liked the flavor of the corn being cooked in the bacon drippings. I added the layer of tomatoes at the end of the baking time so that they would still be firm. Lotsa of flavor - will be good with the late summer corn. Thanks Rafwolf for providing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I did not have bacon on hand so I used Tastefully Simple's Bacon Bacon instead & it was delicious! Makes a truly vegetarian side dish this way. Everyone thought the meal was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I was a bit hesitant about this recipe, boy was it great! I will be making this quite often, especially with the garden in overdrive. I made as is and will keep it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
It was sooooo good. no changes just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Absolutely fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
We had this with Thanksgiving dinner and it was delicious! We tried it again later with frozen corn, and it was very disappointing. I would stick with fresh corn straight from the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States