Fresh Corn Spoon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
with the exception of my moms, this is one of the best i've had. I did add sugar because we like it sweet but overall its great and fairly easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ali1031

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parksley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Excellent recipe. Prepare without the onions and canned corn for a more traditional Spoon Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made this to go with Rosemary Chicken Stew. This recipe produces a creamier, less grainey texture than most other recipes, which went well with the stew. I thought I had made a double recipe, but my family loved it so much there was nothing left at the end of dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hempman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claymont, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This is a great basic recipe and lends itself well to experimentation. I used chives instead of onions and sour cream (diluted with the liquid from the canned corn) instead of milk. I also used half the butter and substituted rosemary flavored olive oil for the other half. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Very big hit at the holiday party. I added 1/4 cup of sugar to this. This was exactly what we were looking for, will make again as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
this was excellent, for a family that doesn't like corn bread they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winfield, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I used 2 cups milk, one cup half and half and one cup vanilla soy milk. This recipe is very good. It's a nice variation to cornbread or a casserole. It has a mild flavor, but is delicious. It is creamy and bakes up light and fluffy. My wife and 3 yr. old loved it. I will make this again, maybe with some sharp cheddar and sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is sitting in our kitchen, 1/2 served but not really consumed... we really didn't enjoy this. Too time consuming (stove watching & stirring) to really accomplish much else except maybe, MAYBE stir browning beef, but really, no one enjoyed it as I hoped. I think I'll try the Chi Chi's corn cake recipe, that's more like what I was hoping from this. More like a corn meal mush quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWifey/Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was VERY time-consuming, required constant attention, resulted in a kitchen-full of dirty dishes because of the multiple steps, and did not taste like traditional spoon bread. The whole-kernel corn was distracting to the texture; I would recommend using a can of cream corn instead for anyone else trying this. I am moving on to a different spoon bread recipe; this one is not a keeper for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States