Fresh Corn Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura Thornburg
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
With some minor changes, this was delicous. First time I made it, I did it exactly like the recipe...it was awful. All it tasted like was salty butter. I love butter, but this was just nasty. So I made it again, now it's delicous! I used 3/4 of a stick of butter (unstead of a full stick), I cut the salt in half, added a pinch more of sugar and bam! Delicous. I also added 1/2 tsp of baking powder which was the best idea ever! It made it more fluffy. Oh yeah, also did it in one of the square casserole dishes instead of the big 9×13 so it was thicker and delicous (baked for 1 hour and 20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Great recipe. I doubled the amount of corn and it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I just moved, so I had to sub a few things and I, like so many others, try to keep things healthy. So, I had 4 cups of corn, 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the butter, 1 milk, 1 Tablespoon of sugar, and only 1 teaspoon of salt. It was way better than I expected. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
3.75 It was okay, added some frozen corn over and above the fresh corn. Needs some more flavour in it. Used a corning ware casserole dish. Didn't use as much butter either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I took one readers advice and used four cups of fresh, cooked, corn but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Absolutely delicious! Just the way I remember my Granny making it. Sometimes she added onions sauteed with bacon. Might try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I used sweet white fresh corn from 3 ears (yielding about 2 1/2 cups) and after reading the reviews I eliminated the sugar and pepper and cut the rest of the ingredients in half. It was very good. I think it would be excellent with cheese and green chilies as well. Another keeper for the file :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
one of the best things ive ever cooked. I used fresh white corn cut off the stalk. SO DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Good..with modifications from other reviewers. Used butter to butter the pan, added nice crispness. Doubled the corn, used half of the sugar, wish I'd have used half of the salt, added cheese some inside, and a little on the top melted at the end. There is very little leftover for my lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Made his Corn Pudding and no one liked it. Will never try it again. GRL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Great basic recipe! So glad I read the other reviews. Here are the modifications I made and it was wonderful! - Four ears of fresh corn - A 1/2 C. extra milk - 1/2 large caramelized onion sauteed with the corn before baking - 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese instead of butter - used stick of butter to grease the edges of my Pyrex pan (added a little crispiness) - 50 minutes (still moist) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States