Fresh Coconut Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
WONDERFUL CAKE! I made this for my brother's birthday and had rave reviews. I have already been requested to make it again for a family gathering. The coconut is in everything- cake batter, frosting, filling, so there is no lack of flavor. This is not a white cake with coconut frosting, but a true coconut dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I LOVED this cake!!! I had a potluck to go to, and now all of my friends and family are addicted to this cake~ Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This cake is fabulous....However, I would change a few things next time. The frosting is overwhelmed with the taste of butter. I would cut the butter in half and add more cream cheese. I believe the filling would benefit from lemon flavoring and grated lemon peel. I did have to use twice the amount of cornstarch...luckily, I followed my hunches as the filling would have been too runny otherwise. The cake itself was exceptional...I only made two layers instead of three and they were ready in exactly 20 minutes. Overall, I would reduce the amount of sugar all around as it seemed far too sweet for my taste. Grating the coconut by hand was a chore....but oh, so worth it! This cake looked beautiful when it was presented and people were literally gushing....A true "suzy homemaker moment"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Connie Gresham
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
THIS WAS THE BEST CAKE I HAVE EVER MADE!!! I HAVE NEVER USED PARCHMENT PAPER BEFORE, BUT IT WORKED WELL. THE FLAVOR IN THE CAKE WAS WONDERFUL. MY DAD'S FAVORITE CAKE IS COCONUT SO HE WAS MY TESTER....HE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Gresham
Home Town: Union Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I've made this cake twice now and everyone loves it! The second time I used only coco lopez coconut cream instead of coconut milk and it worked out great. I did decrease the sugar by 1/4 cup in the cake to make up for the extra sweetness in the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Yummy! My 7 yr old son, who shares my love for cooking, wanted to buy a coconut. Long story short, I wanted a recipe that used fresh coconut and something he could do with just a little help from me. This cake was perfect. Not too difficult, a little time consuming, but worth it in the end. This cake was great! The only thing I changed was instead of 3 layers, we made 2. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I added Malibu coconut rum to the filling and it gave it just the right touch! This cake was delicious, I even got a few marriage proposals out of it!! But I prefer the recipe from Paula Deen... I make this every year for my Cats' birthday (minus the rum, lol) and they love it, and they are picky eaters!! hehe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyJoy
Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkin
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Very moist, delicious cake. The frosting and filling is very sweet though, you do need to have a very sweet tooth for this. I made it for the first time to take to a family gathering and everyone enjoyed it, though some did find it a little over sweet due to the icing. Next time though, I will make the filling a little stiffer/thicker as the weight of all the layers of cake made some of the filling ooze out of the sides before I could add the frosting. Still a 5 star cake in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catkin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Great recipe! All 5 family members here have radically different tastes, and all loved the same cake for once! Crazy. This will remain a special-occasion go-to recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This cake is definitely a keeper. It's a lot of work, but worth the effort with your prize at the end. I would strongly suggest however, that you minimize the amount of butter for the filling. All of the butter gave the filling a strong taste of just that; BUTTER, and it overpowered the taste of coconut. Instead, use a tablespoon of butter to give the filling a stronger taste of coconut. I ended up making it twice and I want to save everyone else from wasting products. Other than that, I made this cake, dished it out to the neighborhood and received rave reviews. I will be making a lot more of this cake, as I am a huge coconut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States