Fresh Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Made the cake exactly as written but it turned out very dry. The frosting was very good but will not make the cake recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I didn't have fresh coconut but i used 1 cup of canned coconut milk and the cake was delicious. i will keep this recipe on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made this for the first time, following the directions exactly, and it was perfect! I couldn't have been happier. I did double the frosting to make enough to cover the sides, which was good. Beautiful cake, and wonderful flavor/texture! This is going to be a stand-by.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Good cake. Frosting tricky. I would double it if you want to frost sides. I did not use fresh coconut. I mixed Coco Lopez cream of coconut with milk to make up the 1 cup of milk asked for. And had coconut flakes from the bag that work fine. I used 1/2 less sugar for batter, since both modifications mentioned will add significant sweetness. Baked in 2 pans and split the layers, spread Raspberry preserves inbetween. And drizzled left over cream of coconut & milk mix on it. Good basic white cake recipe that can be modified to just about anything. Fun cake to do when snowed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This cake was a very good use for a fresh coconut. It's lasted and tasted fresh for 1 1/2 weeks so far. Just put the bottom layer in the freezer. It was simply delicious! Not too sweet, firm, you can tell it's a from scratch cake. Took from 9-2 to make, starting with opening the coconut. There are good hints below about making the old fashioned cooked frosting, which I followed, which was really tasty! It turned out perfect. Might double the frosting recipe next time, to decorate the sides of the cake. It was for a birthday party, looked adorable and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I baked this cake as just two (thicker) layers, using the stated quantities, which worked out fine. Per another reviewer's suggestion I added one entire cup of milk in addition to "topping up" the coconut milk to 1 c -- and the result was really a bit TOO moist. A bit less "extra" milk would be better. I used the icing recipe as well and liked it -- I have not made cooked frostings much but did not have any trouble with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Loved it! Icing was tricky.. but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Security
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a good recipe I didn't do the fresh coconut though. I used the bag stuff and I couldnt find coconut milk so I use coconut water and regular milk together. I didn't make the icing that was suggested. I made a coconut cream cheese icing. I separated it and folded in cool whip to put between the layers. I then took the remaining icing and cover the cake. Then I placed coconut on the entire perimeter of the cake. Was a huge hit at the office. This cake was the tallest cake I have ever made! It was almost 5 inches tall!!! WOW!! Recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Security

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This cake was a dissapointment to me. Neither my husband or I cared for it much, just ok. More work involved than other cakes and no real payback for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
We did not like the frosting. It was too buttery. I would have preferred something lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States