Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Although it needed a few alterations. Cut sugar to 1/2 cup. It also had way too much topping. Could probably cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I think this was perfect as is! I used fresh cherries cut in half and pitted. Easy to assemble in a 9x13 pan and great proportion of fruit to topping. I used a pastry cutter, then a fork to cut in the butter and shortening, but it was room temperature so I ended up just using my fingers until crumbly. Very easy and very yummy! Everyone loved it including my picky daughter who said she didn't like cherries. Great served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by indyscrapmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this using fresh sour cherries. We enjoyed it, but I felt the ratio was backwards--it was about 1/3 fruit, 2/3 topping. I like my fruit crisps a lot heavier on the fruit. Oh, and I baked it in a 10-inch square pan; I don't think the cherries would've come close to filling a 9x13-inch dish. I cut the sugar in the filling to about 1 1/4 cups, and in the topping to 3/4 cup since I like some tartness in fruit desserts. I added a pinch of salt to the filling and topping, too, and used all butter (about 3/4 cup). Tasty with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Patricia
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Overall this is a great easy recipe. It was just a little too sweet for my preference so I may reduce the brown sugar & the regular sugar by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
YUM! Made this using one can of sour cherries, almond extract, splash of lemon juice and I had some dried cherries, threw in a couple of handfuls. The BEST crisp I have ever made. Boy it was rich..should have topped it with some vanilla ice cream just to cut the sweetness!! Will use this recipe from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
EXCELLENT! I like a lot of topping so this was perfect. The whole family loved it. A great way to use the cherries off our cherry tree. I've made this twice in about a week's time. The second time I made it I did cut the sugar back to 1 cup in the filling. The full amount was a tad too sweet for me. I will be making this every cherry picking season from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Delish! I 1 1/2'd the cherries. (I used frozen sour cherries) I decreased the white sugar to 1 cup. And I cut the crumble topping in 1/2 and added 1 tsp. cinnamon. I also assembled and then froze an extra pan. Came out perfect freezer to oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
We have a cherry tree in our yard and this is my go to recipe for Cherry Crisp. It is so yummy without any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fussa, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I was given a bag of fresh sour cherries and found this recipe. I just pulled this out of the oven, and it is delicious. Very easy to put together. I did not use the half cup of shortening that the recipe calls for and next time I will cut down on the topping probably by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat4662

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States