Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
So delicious! I used a one pound bag of frozen sweet dark cherries from Trader Joe's. (And cut the recipe in half). Since they were sweet cherries, I omitted the white sugar. For the topping, I used mostly whole-wheat pastry flour. I don't use shortening, so I used all butter, (a little less than called for) and melted it before mixing it in. Added just a little cinnamon too. With my changes I give it five stars. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I've made this twice now and it was a huge hit both times. My oldest son was hovering over it while it cooled when I made it for a party last night! I used 2 bags of frozen, no sugar added, sour cherries from Safeway. Followed the directions just as they are with the frozen cherries and it turns out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 19, 2003
I made this out of fresh cherries and took it to a party. Everyone raved about it saying it was great. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
The recipe is as delicious as it is simple. I made it for a potluck and everyone was asking for the recipe. I used bing cherries (almost 5 cups)in place of the sour cherries and cut the amount of sugar to 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons. I also added sliced almonds to the topping (about a handful). The topping is plentiful which helps to ensure the juices don't escape through it. I plan on making it again for the 4th of July weekend. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
This was a great way to use those farmer's markets' fresh sour cherries that come along only too infrequently. The crisp topping works really well with the sweetened tartness of the baked cherries. I'm sure this would be good with ice cream, but it didn't last long enough for us to try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This recipe is awesome.. I used fresh cherries and only 1 cup of sugar. I also added sliced almonds to the topping mixture as recommended by another reviewer.. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
After a long day of picking and pitting 3 gallons of sour cherries, I needed a quick but appealing recipe. This is a wonderfully quick recipe that produces great results. The combination of the crunchy sweetness of the topping and mild tartness of the cherries made for a great finale to my meal. Of course a big dallop of whipped cream only added to the dessert. It was quite popular with all of my family and will be made again! Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
A delicious, very easy recipe for using fresh cherries from the garden! Very easy for my young granddaughter to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Excellent!! I added slivered almonds on top and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This is the best Cherry crisp made with Fresh Cherry's I picked from my tree. My family loved it going to use this recipe many time. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States