Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This was sooo yummy!!! I did make the following modifications - used 2 cans of sour cherries, and cut the sugar/flour in half. Put in an 8x8 pan. I cut the topping in half and took out the shortening completely (not sure why you would want to add unnecessary trans fat). Also, I used salted butter, which I'm sure helped give the topping its great flavor. This ROCKS with Blue Bell vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
My rating is for the following modifications: I used a bag of Trader Joe's frozen cherries and berries (about 3 cups) because that was all I had and reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup for the fruit mixture. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon over it. I did not use the shortening! You only need 1/2 cup of butter for the topping or it will be greasy. Shortening has no place in a recipe like this. I look forward to trying it with the sour cherries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This turned out pretty good. I did have some slight changes. I didn't have enough frozen cherries so I added half the amount in frozen peaches. The peaches and cherries tasted great together and complimented perfectly! I didn't have any shortening so I used 1 c butter. The cooking time seemed right on. All in all the only thing I would change would be to cut down on some of the topping. There was just a bit too much so you didn't taste as much fruit as I'd like to, just a mouth full of sugar! I would say cut the topping by 1/4 or even 1/3. I'm going to experiment to find which is best. Oh also, I had a little juice spill out so it got burnt on the coil. It smelled AWFUL! Just in case, I'd lay down some foil underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Very good, and simple!! I used all butter instead of half butter, half shortening. I also added 1 TB almond oil to the fruit and 1 tsp almond oil to the crumble. I used half fresh cherries and half fresh blueberries for a wonderful combination. Also, before I topped the fruit with the crumble, I added 4 pieces of Neufchatel cheese (1 TB each) to the top of the fruit. Then, I topped with the crumble and baked. The cream cheese gave it a danish-like taste. The crisp was delicious and everyone LOVED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I tried this recipe when I realized that I had 2 cherry trees in my back yard and an abundance cherries. I made this with fresh cherries, of course, and it turned out wonderfully. It was such a hit that I ended up having to make 3 more for my friends. Great recipe, thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
This recipe is awesome! There is no need for 1/2 cup of shortening. I used more than 4 cups of cherries. I served this with whipped topping, but will be sure to serve it with vanilla ice cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
So delicious! I used a one pound bag of frozen sweet dark cherries from Trader Joe's. (And cut the recipe in half). Since they were sweet cherries, I omitted the white sugar. For the topping, I used mostly whole-wheat pastry flour. I don't use shortening, so I used all butter, (a little less than called for) and melted it before mixing it in. Added just a little cinnamon too. With my changes I give it five stars. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Yum! My friend gave me some cherries. So I was looking for a recipe for fresh sour cherries and ran across this recipe, and so glad I did! I used 5 cups cherries because that was how much I had.I added 1/2tsp. cinnamon to topping and used all butter, no shortening. Delish! Thanks Gail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
My family had requested that I make cherry crisp for a summer cook-out, and use some of our freshly-picked cherries. I followed this recipe exactly, and it was a huge hit. Everyone raved about it, and I only got one spoonful at the end of the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I've made this twice now and it was a huge hit both times. My oldest son was hovering over it while it cooled when I made it for a party last night! I used 2 bags of frozen, no sugar added, sour cherries from Safeway. Followed the directions just as they are with the frozen cherries and it turns out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States