Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Rave reviews. I too cut both sugars in half and did not add the shortening - did not add more butter either. It came out great with just the right amount of crispness and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
YUM!! Used fresh sour cherries and this is delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tashafromtulsa
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I only used 1/2c sugar with my fresh (not sour) cherries, and it was WAY too sweet. omitted the shortening, cut flour down to 1 cup, and added almonds on top for the last 15 mins. It looks delicious and the topping is pretty good. If you aren't using sour cherries, maybe you only need a few tablespoons of sugar to make it palpable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tashafromtulsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was very easy to make and was absolutely delicious. I got more compliments on this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This crisp was a good starting point but I found it to be too sweet. Next time I will make some modifications to it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manderz

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This is a winner. My parents visited when I made this and my Dad told me it reminded him of his Mom's crisp that she made when he was younger. This recipe keeps the tart flavor of the cherries and has that wonderful crisp on top too. We loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I picked sour cherries at my neighbors and pitted them. This is a great recipe for the filling. The crust is not as crumbly as I would like. With the crisco it makes it clumpy, good, but not what I wanted. I like the Apple Crisp II topping. # 1 cup quick-cooking oats # 1 cup all-purpose flour # 1 cup packed brown sugar # 1/4 teaspoon baking powder # 1/4 teaspoon baking soda # 1/2 cup butter, melted # Combine the oats, 1 cup flour, brown sugar, baking powder, baking soda and melted butter together. Crumble evenly over the apple mixture. # Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hensen22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This is definitely better with fozen cherries if you can find them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Made this for work and got rave reviews. Fresh cherries were out of season, so I used some frozen dark ones and it was awesome. Just enough left over for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Super yummy! I love the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States