Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made these in six individual dishes as my husband and I really shouldn't eat the whole recipe at one sitting - and it was good enough that that would have been tempting. By making it in small dishes I was able to freeze extra. I made the topping in the food processor, grinding the oatmeal fine and used all butter. It tasted like shortbread. I only used half the topping, put the rest in a ziploc bag and held it in the refrigerator for next time. I made this twice - the first time I used Splenda as another reviewer suggested. Yuck! I don't use Splenda but someone had left a box in my kitchen and I thought it would be a good idea to use it up. I followed the instructions to use it in the same quantities as sugar but it turned out way too sweet and to me it had an aftertaste. I'll never try that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe, did not change a thing! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very good. I had some frozen cherries and this was perfect. I will use this recipe again and use different fruit. maybe rhubarb and cherries...even apples. Very Good! everyone loved it with a little cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianneher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!! I made this exactly as written, with the exception of the 9x13 pan. Mine were all in use, so I simply put it in an 8x8 pan. Some of the crumbles on top were a little powdery because they didn't contact the cherry juice, but it was still absolutely delectable. If you decide to use a smaller pan, I might recommend not using all the crumbles, or cutting that part of the recipe to 3/4. Regardless of how you make it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly (only because I don't believe in giving a review of a recipe that I make changes to) and it was delicious! Some of the sugar did stick to the bottom but I probably would not change the recipe. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
SO good.... wouldn't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Snyder Honeycutt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Excellent. I used 1 cup of splenda for the white sugar. and cut the topping in halve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very good. However, since I used sweet cherries, I decreased the sugar to only 1 C. and added lemon juice. For the topping, I only used butter and no shortening. Next time I make this, I will add water to the cherries as they didn't come out as juicy as I had hoped and I would not use the oats for the topping... personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
outstanding, i was asked for this recipe by every woman at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I loved this. I don't know if anyone else liked it because I ate it all myself. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States