Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
An often requested treat at the firehouse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JeaneDrake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was good buy wasn't crispy. I think the oats soaked up too much of the liquid. I increased the amount of cherries based on prior reviews. Flavor was good but the texture wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeaneDrake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeview, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Londonderry, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Used just 1/2 cup butter, no shortening. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
LOVED IT! I made some changes others suggested and incorporated my own. I ended up with more cherries and less topping: 4 and 1/2 c cherries (I used frozen), 3/4 white sugar, 1/4 cup tapioca (instead of flour) and 1 t vanilla. For topping, 1/2 c flour, 1/2 c rolled oats,1/4 c white sugar, 1/2 c brown sugar. Leave out shortening. Bake in 8x8 or 9x9 for 50-60 minutes. Less topping and more cherries make me a happy girl. Serve with vanilla ice cream. My hubby ate three helpings on his go-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I halved this recipe, but mine came out with the sugar still grainy. I creamed the butter and sugar as directed for the topping, however, it was the butter in the cherry flour mixture that was gritty, I think. Any suggestions? We will still eat it. Thanks Arandygail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this for my guinea pigs--I mean, co-workers at the peak of cherry season, following all the instructions...EXCEPT: I used coconut flour rather than wheat flour to make it gluten-free. The results were great-my co-workers loved it and I received many compliments. The only thing is, I've never used coconut flour before, so in the future, I might cover it with foil to keep it from getting too dark in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious recipe! Next time however I will try the fresh cherries without added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband made this using Rainier & Sweetheart Cherries and it was so yummy. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerme2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish! I only had 3 cups of cherries on hand so I substituted 1 cup of blueberries. It turned out beautifully. I love the way the tang of the fruit is not over powered by the crisp mixture. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was yummy! I did modify it a little bit, as I wanted to use up all my fresh cherries. I used about 6 cups of fresh cherries (next time I will cut them into halves instead of using full cherries...makes them easier to eat!). The topping was right on the money for a 9 x 13 pan. I took it out of the oven exactly within the time on the recipe, but I wish I had left it in for a few more minutes so the top would be more crispy. The taste was sensational though, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States