Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I halved this recipe, but mine came out with the sugar still grainy. I creamed the butter and sugar as directed for the topping, however, it was the butter in the cherry flour mixture that was gritty, I think. Any suggestions? We will still eat it. Thanks Arandygail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I made this for my guinea pigs--I mean, co-workers at the peak of cherry season, following all the instructions...EXCEPT: I used coconut flour rather than wheat flour to make it gluten-free. The results were great-my co-workers loved it and I received many compliments. The only thing is, I've never used coconut flour before, so in the future, I might cover it with foil to keep it from getting too dark in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delicious recipe! Next time however I will try the fresh cherries without added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
My husband made this using Rainier & Sweetheart Cherries and it was so yummy. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakerme2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Tualatin, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I really enjoyed this dish! I only had 3 cups of cherries on hand so I substituted 1 cup of blueberries. It turned out beautifully. I love the way the tang of the fruit is not over powered by the crisp mixture. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This was yummy! I did modify it a little bit, as I wanted to use up all my fresh cherries. I used about 6 cups of fresh cherries (next time I will cut them into halves instead of using full cherries...makes them easier to eat!). The topping was right on the money for a 9 x 13 pan. I took it out of the oven exactly within the time on the recipe, but I wish I had left it in for a few more minutes so the top would be more crispy. The taste was sensational though, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very delicious. I used sweet cherries and reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is O.K. I found the other modifications to be spot on. It needs a lot less sugar, and a lot more fruit. For fresh cherries either half the sugar or double the fruit. The topping was also too much, although if you double the fruit it would probably be perfect. Otherwise, it was good, and I would try it with any kind of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arnel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was awesome, I love oats in dessert and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I had fresh Bing cherries so I didn't use any of the white sugar. I also used all butter, no shortening. It turned out perfectly. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hebegbe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States