Fresh Cherry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Looked all over for cherries and couldn't fine the sour kind, so we totally changed this up with a bag of frozen triple berries (blueberry, raspberry and blackberry), following the recipe exactly otherwise, it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONDAPAULD
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly as it was. I was very hesitant when I started because of the amount of sugar. I now wish I would have cut the sugar in half. it was WAY to sweet, and there is to much topping compared to cherries. It would be ok cutting back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Instead of sour cherries, I made this with sweet cherries from one of our trees and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Crisp is usually my favorite, but this one was awful!! Turned into a fatty soupy mess! Don't know why I tried a new recipe when mine has always been so good. So disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
this crisp was fantastic!!! the topping was sort of cake-y after it was baked, but still delicious. i tried what a few other reviews said and only used 1 cup of sugar and put in maybe a cup more cherries than the recipe suggested. I chose not to put in the cherries with the sugar and flour mixture, and ended up rolling the cherries in it and lining the pan with them. then i just poured the excess sugar/flour over the top of the cherries. My only complaint is how quickly it ran out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
VERY sweet. Almost too sweet. But it had a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is delicious, but I made it a little more healthy: I used a fresh berry medley of sweet cherries, tart blackberries and blueberries, so I cut the fruit sugar to 1/4 cup. Then I cut the crisp recipe to 2/3 and replaced the shortening with 1/4 cup of applesauce to make it more healthy. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathrynm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Excellent when skipping the shortening and using fresh cherries! I also used more cherries than the recipe called for to make it extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eibbed0001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My biggest complaint is I think it really needed more cherries in a 9 X 13 pan and that was with having about 4 1/2 cups in it. It seemed to be all topping to me? Maybe I should have cut back on the topping as one reviewer suggested? Anyway, I had sweeter fresh cherries too, so I cut back the sugar to 3/4 c. white and 1/4 c. brown. I also used all butter in the topping and cut it back to 3/4 cup. I sprinkled cinnamon in the topping too. Mine did not take 45 minutes to be done. It was nearer to 30- 35 minute mark, so keep an eye on it. I think the topping was a little overdone on it even at that, but still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connersville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I was a bit disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using fresh SWEET cherries. All I could taste was brown sugar with every bite. My husband thinks it would have been good if I had used sour cherries. Next time I will decrease the sugar as suggested and add more oats to make it crunchier and of course, use sour cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States