Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
One of my new favorites! Perfect with vanilla ice cream, tastes like an old-fashioned cobbler, something grandma would throw together on a weeknight. --Somewhat like a pineapple upside-down cake texture, all caramelized around the edges. Am trying it with peaches and blackberries today, will let you know how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Good, but too sweet. I should have done as other reviewers suggested and halved both sugar amounts. The cherries retain their flavour nicely, which is not my general experience when baking with them. Used gluten-free flour, and it turned out to be a nice cake-like dish. Got very soggy the next day though - if I make this again I will make sure we have company so it all gets eaten while it's still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Wonderful. The right amount of fruit and cake. I added some vanilla paste to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Amazing and really easy except for pitting cherries. A friend recommended frozen cherries and I may try that next time. I look like I had murdered somebody after pitting those cherries. I added extra cherries and some cinnamon but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It was soooooo good. Served with vanilla ice cream while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very good! Like others, I used doubled the amount of cherries (4 cups, using sweet cherries since that was all that was available, used half the amount of sugar, and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the cherry mixture. It was a big hit. Since I did not have a cherry pitter, I cut the cherries in half to remove the pit, and it actually worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The BEST cherry cobbler ever. This one's a keeper. Good cold and even without ice cream or whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made this when friends were visiting us from Florida. Big hit. The only thing I would change is maybe letting the sugar sit on the cherries for an hour or so, because I like sweeter, but if you are not a big sweet eater, this recipe is delicious the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Not bad, but I prefer a more biscuit-like texture to my cobbler. This was more like cherry cake. It tasted ok, but didn't come out as good as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I live in Michigan and it's tart cherry season! It's a very short season, so I picked cherries this morning and was looking for different ways to use them when I ran across this recipe. Because of the many reviewers that stated the cobbler part was sparse, I added 1 1/2 times the amount of ingredients listed. Adding the 1/2 t. cinnamon & 1 t. vanilla with 1/2 t. almond extract. I also took their suggestions and used 4 cups of fresh cherries instead of the 2 cups, but kept the sugar added to 3/4 cups as written. Lastly, I sprinkles the sliced almonds on top just before going into the oven. I give this 4 1/2 stars...it was very good and I would make it again. You gotta love those fresh tart cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this over the weekend. Turned out great! I followed everyone else s advice and cut the sugar and it worked out great, topping the finished product with a scoop of ice cream also adds a bit of sweetness as well ;) I added a teaspoon of Vanilla extract and pinch of Cinnamon to the cherry's when I was tossing them. Loved the recipe, cant wait to try it again, so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States