Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Tried this recipe, and it was very good, but don't bake it that long! A toothpick inserted into a cobbler should NEVER come out clean... that's more of a fruit bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
i followed the recipe completely except for only adding extra cherries. after an hour and 45 minutes, it still wasn't done, but i took it out anyway. ironically, my family loved it! they had never had cobbler before, and they loved the custard-like texture. i will try again to see if i can make a "true" cobbler though in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made this for dinner last night. Based on the reviews that I read and the fact that we do not like our dessert too sweet I did make a couple of changes. I doubled the cherries to 4 cups, I did 1 1/2 times the recipe for the top and cut the sugar almost in half. I added cinnamon and vanilla based on the majority of reviews that I read. The butter bubbled up around the sides of the pan, spilled out in the oven and resulted in a tough texture on the edges of the cake. This would be better defined as an upside down cake rather than a cobbler. It was just ok and I will not make this again. I bake regularly and my family felt that in comparison to what I normally bake they would rate it a 2 or a 3 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very Good. Easy to make. Only used half of the sugar and it's sweet enough. Can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe is not fool-proof, I guess. I am not sure what I did wrong, but the bottom was very hard. It was like all the sugar sunk to the bottom and then carmalized after baking. It still tasted good, just was difficult to eat without using a knife. I added vanilla extract and a little cinnamon for flavoring and used about 1/4 cup less sugar overall. I think if I made this again I would first put the cherries in the baking dish, then the cobbler part on top of them. Maybe that would help the hardness on the bottom???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was so simple and tasted great! I added a cup of oats and brown sugar as well. I will make this every year during Cherry season. I love fresh Michigan Cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXXIESTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I agree that this is more of a sponge cake with cherries than a cobbler but it still is good with a few changes. Definately use 1/4 cup of butter and an 8x11 baking pan. You will need to bake this for the 50-60 minutes suggested if you use the smaller pan. I used half white and half brown sugar for the batter and I added 1 tsp. vanilla extract,1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and a 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The milk I used was skim milk. I used 3 cups of cheeries, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and approximately 1/4 cup or less of white sugar as I used Bing cheeries which are already very sweet. I would substitute lemon juice for the almond extract if using blueberries or blackberries and adjust sugar accordingly. When it came out of the oven I sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar. Fantastic on its own or with ice cream. See you at the gym to work this lovely dessert off?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKRULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBSmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent recipe! Made a few changes: doubled it, cut the sugar by about a quarter, substituted full-fat coconut milk for most of the conventional milk, sprinkled toasted almond slivers on top just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow - easy and delicious! Plus it uses "fresh" fruit vs. canned which makes a huge difference. For the batter I got away with using 1/2 cup of sugar vs. a whole cup and like others I added a bit of cinnamon. I used buttermilk vs. milk and added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. While I poured the batter into the 9x13 dish I kept thinking, "Is this really going to be enough?" and while it spread thin, in the end it was plenty. I doubled the amount of fresh cherries and even though my hands looked like something out of a horror flick it was worth it. I just might have to try this with fresh peaches or blueberries. I tossed the cherries with 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. This baked up beautifully in 55 minutes! I sprinkled the top with a bit of powdered sugar and served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was delicious. Very sticky though. I put it in a 8 1/2 round baking dish and it overflowed. Luckily, I had put it on a baking sheet before hand. Happily, though, what stayed in was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiloh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States