Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Unbelievably delicious! I followed the advice of others and added cinnamon and vanilla to the batter. I used less sugar and mixed white with brown, since I used bing sweet cherries. Next time I will use slightly less butter, maybe 1/3 cup. I put this in an 8x11 dish and it turned out perfectly thick. Try this, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was a very easy recipe and turned out great!!! As usual, I tweeked it a little. I added 1/4 tsp. of almond extract and a tsp. of lemon zest to the cherry mixture. I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla to the cake mixture. Finally, I topped the cobbler with a streusel mixture which is as follows: 1/2 c. brown sugar; 1/2 c. flour; 1/2 c. oats; 1/4 c. melted butter, 1/4 c. sliced almonds and 1/4 c. shredded coconut. I am very happy with the way this turned out and will definitely be making it again. Oh yeah, it is so definitely worth it to use fresh cherries!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
WOW!!! i think this may be the best thing ever!...we moved over the winter and have discovered that we have 2 cherry trees in our new backyard and having never baked with fresh cherries before decided to google a recipe and THIS IS AMAZING!!!! Super Easy! and delicious :) ...used almost 4cups of cherries instead of 2 and also took a suggestion from another review and added 1/2tsp of cinnamon to the cherry mixture and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I do more cooking then baking. Note: Don't bake on the bottom shelf of the oven. I had fresh sour cherries from our farm share. Bought a cherry pitter from Bed, Bath, & Beyond. My family is eating healthier so we tried this recipe using Splenda for all the white sugar. The recipe was good but had that sweetner aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
SUPER easy. I picked the cherries from my own trees and pitting them was the hardest part. I had a bunch of unexpected company show up the evening I made this and it was all gone before I could blink! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Not sure the pan size is right because it was very very thin, but OMG the flavor was wonderful. I didn't change anything except used both brown sugar and white sugar to stir into the cherries. I was so excited today when I saw the first sour cherries at the farmers market, and I wasn't disappointed by the recipe I used to showcase them! Nice and buttery, sweet and tart...what more could you ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Slammin, bangin, awesome, delicious were the adjectives used when I served this to friends & family! I followed the recipe with a few small changes. I added a pinch of kosher salt to the batter ingredient. Used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar to the fruit ingredients and added fresh grated nutmeg and cinnamon. I baked it in an 8 x 8 pan (9 x 13 just seemed too big) after 30 minutes I sprinkled sugar on top and returned to oven for another 20 mins. Will surely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Made a big mistake the first time I did this recipe because I tried cutting it in half and I replaced the sugar with splenda (to make it diabetic friendly). It turned really hard and the cherries didn't sink in the batter. I redid the recipe with the original ingredients, but I added more cherries (used sweet cherries instead of sour) and also used blackberries, and I added cinnamon and vanilla extract like others recommended. I found that the butter taste was overwhelming (too much butter perhaps), it was good overall but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was different then what I would normally think of as cobbler, more like a cake, i felt. Either way, this was pretty darn tasty! Made with sweet cherries and a bit less sugar, very good. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Photo by QueenB1682
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is 5 star! I added sliced apples, cinnamon and vanilla as suggested by other reviews, increased all ingredients by one half to make up for the added apples, and left out all sugar (my hubs is trying to avoid sugar.) It turned out amazing, reminds me of "french toast" consistency, although it is definitely better with a tsp of brown sugar added to each serving. We decided to try adding some brown sugar over the top near the end of cooking time next time- WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States