Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
One of my new favorites! Perfect with vanilla ice cream, tastes like an old-fashioned cobbler, something grandma would throw together on a weeknight. --Somewhat like a pineapple upside-down cake texture, all caramelized around the edges. Am trying it with peaches and blackberries today, will let you know how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Good, but too sweet. I should have done as other reviewers suggested and halved both sugar amounts. The cherries retain their flavour nicely, which is not my general experience when baking with them. Used gluten-free flour, and it turned out to be a nice cake-like dish. Got very soggy the next day though - if I make this again I will make sure we have company so it all gets eaten while it's still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: High Prairie, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Wonderful. The right amount of fruit and cake. I added some vanilla paste to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Amazing and really easy except for pitting cherries. A friend recommended frozen cherries and I may try that next time. I look like I had murdered somebody after pitting those cherries. I added extra cherries and some cinnamon but followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It was soooooo good. Served with vanilla ice cream while still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Very good! Like others, I used doubled the amount of cherries (4 cups, using sweet cherries since that was all that was available, used half the amount of sugar, and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the cherry mixture. It was a big hit. Since I did not have a cherry pitter, I cut the cherries in half to remove the pit, and it actually worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
The BEST cherry cobbler ever. This one's a keeper. Good cold and even without ice cream or whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made this when friends were visiting us from Florida. Big hit. The only thing I would change is maybe letting the sugar sit on the cherries for an hour or so, because I like sweeter, but if you are not a big sweet eater, this recipe is delicious the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Not bad, but I prefer a more biscuit-like texture to my cobbler. This was more like cherry cake. It tasted ok, but didn't come out as good as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Gatley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I live in Michigan and it's tart cherry season! It's a very short season, so I picked cherries this morning and was looking for different ways to use them when I ran across this recipe. Because of the many reviewers that stated the cobbler part was sparse, I added 1 1/2 times the amount of ingredients listed. Adding the 1/2 t. cinnamon & 1 t. vanilla with 1/2 t. almond extract. I also took their suggestions and used 4 cups of fresh cherries instead of the 2 cups, but kept the sugar added to 3/4 cups as written. Lastly, I sprinkles the sliced almonds on top just before going into the oven. I give this 4 1/2 stars...it was very good and I would make it again. You gotta love those fresh tart cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this over the weekend. Turned out great! I followed everyone else s advice and cut the sugar and it worked out great, topping the finished product with a scoop of ice cream also adds a bit of sweetness as well ;) I added a teaspoon of Vanilla extract and pinch of Cinnamon to the cherry's when I was tossing them. Loved the recipe, cant wait to try it again, so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States