Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
OUTSTANDING! I followed reviewers' suggestions and used 1/2 cup less sugar, more cherries, added a tsp of Pampered Chef Cinnamon Plus spice blend, and a tsp of vanilla. I also used half white sugar and half Sugar in the Raw, because I like its richness in baked goods. I made one-and-a-half of the recipe for the cobbler part because I like mine with lots of the good stuff. I used a cherry pitter, so from start to finish the prep time took less than 20 minutes. The finished product is fantastic. The taste and texture of the cakey part of the cobbler is just sublime. This is the one to try if you're looking for a good cobbler recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
257 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINMOMMY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Wonderful! I picked up a pail of Door County Wisconsin cherries while on vacation and have made this four times (for myself and to share with others) I did add one additional cup of cherries. It's almost like "magic" how the cobbler forms! Someone at work gave me a tip on how to pit cherries--use a drinking straw. Just hold the cherry flat on a plate, push the straw into the cherry, then pull the cherry up over the straw. The pit remains on the end of the straw. It worked great--(much better than my $10 cherry pitter.) Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I hate to give something a bad review but I really did not like this recipe. I expected cobbler to have a biscut-like drop dough. This is more like a sponge cake or an upside-down cake. The end result was good, a little too sweet but definetly not cobbler. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Thank you for this recipe -- it has been a huge hit. We have a Montmorency cherry tree and I've been looking for ways to enjoy these tart cherries. After reading all previous reviews, I edited the recipe to follow the majority: 1. changed amount of cherries from 2 cups to 4 cups 2. added 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp cinnamon to the flour/sugar/baking powder/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I used sweet cherries and also halved both sugar amounts. Very tasty. I used 2% milk which worked great. I also added 1 t. vanilla in with the milk, and sprinkled cherries with cinnamon, brown sugar, and cocoa powder. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Sour cherries are in season & we’re fortunate to have an orchard full of them quite close. (They also offer free cherry pitting to boot!) This cobbler recipe is easy & really delicious. Like other reviews suggest, we doubled the sour cherries (4 cups), added 1 tsp. vanilla extract & ½ tsp. cinnamon. This recipe is a keeper! Addition: Please note the extra cherries could add additional cooking time (ours was about 20 min.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow - easy and delicious! Plus it uses "fresh" fruit vs. canned which makes a huge difference. For the batter I got away with using 1/2 cup of sugar vs. a whole cup and like others I added a bit of cinnamon. I used buttermilk vs. milk and added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. While I poured the batter into the 9x13 dish I kept thinking, "Is this really going to be enough?" and while it spread thin, in the end it was plenty. I doubled the amount of fresh cherries and even though my hands looked like something out of a horror flick it was worth it. I just might have to try this with fresh peaches or blueberries. I tossed the cherries with 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. This baked up beautifully in 55 minutes! I sprinkled the top with a bit of powdered sugar and served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Wonderful! this was a huge hit... got future hubbie to pit the cherries! I used only 3/4 cup sugar in the base and only 1/2 cup in the cherries - and it was wonderful. Served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Delicious! What a wonderful, quick easy recipe! I added a lot of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger, as well as a big dollop of maple syrup to the batter, and it was great! My hubby raved and raved about it. And my three-year-old could happily lick the batter because it didn't contain eggs! I will definitely being making this again! - Many, many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This recipe was quick and easy! It was my first FRESH cherry cobbler. I have always made it with pie filling. This is SO much better! Loved it and will definitely make it again SOON! It was a hit with the family too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States