Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Slammin, bangin, awesome, delicious were the adjectives used when I served this to friends & family! I followed the recipe with a few small changes. I added a pinch of kosher salt to the batter ingredient. Used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown sugar to the fruit ingredients and added fresh grated nutmeg and cinnamon. I baked it in an 8 x 8 pan (9 x 13 just seemed too big) after 30 minutes I sprinkled sugar on top and returned to oven for another 20 mins. Will surely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Made a big mistake the first time I did this recipe because I tried cutting it in half and I replaced the sugar with splenda (to make it diabetic friendly). It turned really hard and the cherries didn't sink in the batter. I redid the recipe with the original ingredients, but I added more cherries (used sweet cherries instead of sour) and also used blackberries, and I added cinnamon and vanilla extract like others recommended. I found that the butter taste was overwhelming (too much butter perhaps), it was good overall but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was different then what I would normally think of as cobbler, more like a cake, i felt. Either way, this was pretty darn tasty! Made with sweet cherries and a bit less sugar, very good. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Photo by QueenB1682
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is 5 star! I added sliced apples, cinnamon and vanilla as suggested by other reviews, increased all ingredients by one half to make up for the added apples, and left out all sugar (my hubs is trying to avoid sugar.) It turned out amazing, reminds me of "french toast" consistency, although it is definitely better with a tsp of brown sugar added to each serving. We decided to try adding some brown sugar over the top near the end of cooking time next time- WILL make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Delicious Cobbler..... faster and easier to make with a hand crank cherry pitter I found through internet that really works! Can pit a cup of fresh cherries in a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
It was good very easy and yummy my 2 year old and I got it done within mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Followed it to a tee and baked for 55 min. The corners were almost caramelized and absolutely delicious! We had some sour pitted cherries frozen back from last summer that when thawed had about 1/4 cup of juice. Poured that on after placing the cherries on the batter. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This recipe was just what I was looking for! Very easy with all ingredients on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
We have sour cherry trees and this make the best/easiest cobble ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
wow this was great just had some cherries and made it. I used sweet cherries. sour cherries are not fresh around here. Easy to do and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States