Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Great recipe and very easy to alter. I had 6 C of fresh cherries on hand so I increased the ingredients by half. Also, took the advice of other reviewers and decreased the sugar and added vanilla but should have cut way back on the butter. I used a 10X13 baking dish and baked for 55 min. It came out almost custard-like but very yummy! Will cut back the butter next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Weber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haddon Heights, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Wow. My 12yo daughter called me at work to tell me she had picked cherries off the tree in our yard and wanted to make a dessert with them. I did a quick search and pointed her to this recipe -- she made it by herself and the whole family raved!!!! She didn't change a thing, and it really tasted like cobbler to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Wish I read the reviews first. Definitely needs twice the cherries and half the sugar. I will try it again since we have a cherry tree brimming with fruit right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Here are my changes and it came out great! I work with police officers and they couldn't get enough of it! I used 5tbs of butter, 2 Cups flour, 1 1/2 Cups sugar, 2 Tsp baking powder, 2 tsp all spice, 2 tsp cinnomon, 2 Cups milk, and almost 3 whole cans of cherries. I baked it in a 9X13 pan for 1 hour 10 mins @345 but my oven runs a little hot... hope this helps for those of you wanting to cook it in the bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Tried this recipe, and it was very good, but don't bake it that long! A toothpick inserted into a cobbler should NEVER come out clean... that's more of a fruit bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
i followed the recipe completely except for only adding extra cherries. after an hour and 45 minutes, it still wasn't done, but i took it out anyway. ironically, my family loved it! they had never had cobbler before, and they loved the custard-like texture. i will try again to see if i can make a "true" cobbler though in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I made this for dinner last night. Based on the reviews that I read and the fact that we do not like our dessert too sweet I did make a couple of changes. I doubled the cherries to 4 cups, I did 1 1/2 times the recipe for the top and cut the sugar almost in half. I added cinnamon and vanilla based on the majority of reviews that I read. The butter bubbled up around the sides of the pan, spilled out in the oven and resulted in a tough texture on the edges of the cake. This would be better defined as an upside down cake rather than a cobbler. It was just ok and I will not make this again. I bake regularly and my family felt that in comparison to what I normally bake they would rate it a 2 or a 3 out of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very Good. Easy to make. Only used half of the sugar and it's sweet enough. Can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
This recipe is not fool-proof, I guess. I am not sure what I did wrong, but the bottom was very hard. It was like all the sugar sunk to the bottom and then carmalized after baking. It still tasted good, just was difficult to eat without using a knife. I added vanilla extract and a little cinnamon for flavoring and used about 1/4 cup less sugar overall. I think if I made this again I would first put the cherries in the baking dish, then the cobbler part on top of them. Maybe that would help the hardness on the bottom???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was so simple and tasted great! I added a cup of oats and brown sugar as well. I will make this every year during Cherry season. I love fresh Michigan Cherries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIXXIESTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States