Fresh Cherry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I agree that this is more of a sponge cake with cherries than a cobbler but it still is good with a few changes. Definately use 1/4 cup of butter and an 8x11 baking pan. You will need to bake this for the 50-60 minutes suggested if you use the smaller pan. I used half white and half brown sugar for the batter and I added 1 tsp. vanilla extract,1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and a 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg. The milk I used was skim milk. I used 3 cups of cheeries, 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract and approximately 1/4 cup or less of white sugar as I used Bing cheeries which are already very sweet. I would substitute lemon juice for the almond extract if using blueberries or blackberries and adjust sugar accordingly. When it came out of the oven I sprinkled the top with cinnamon sugar. Fantastic on its own or with ice cream. See you at the gym to work this lovely dessert off?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKRULL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBSmith
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Excellent recipe! Made a few changes: doubled it, cut the sugar by about a quarter, substituted full-fat coconut milk for most of the conventional milk, sprinkled toasted almond slivers on top just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow - easy and delicious! Plus it uses "fresh" fruit vs. canned which makes a huge difference. For the batter I got away with using 1/2 cup of sugar vs. a whole cup and like others I added a bit of cinnamon. I used buttermilk vs. milk and added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. While I poured the batter into the 9x13 dish I kept thinking, "Is this really going to be enough?" and while it spread thin, in the end it was plenty. I doubled the amount of fresh cherries and even though my hands looked like something out of a horror flick it was worth it. I just might have to try this with fresh peaches or blueberries. I tossed the cherries with 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. This baked up beautifully in 55 minutes! I sprinkled the top with a bit of powdered sugar and served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was delicious. Very sticky though. I put it in a 8 1/2 round baking dish and it overflowed. Luckily, I had put it on a baking sheet before hand. Happily, though, what stayed in was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shiloh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Very easy to make, got rave reviews when I brought it into the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I was surprised that this was to go in a 9x13 as it seemed to be a small amount of batter and cherries for that size. But I went ahead and followed the directions, and sure enough it was flat with the cherries all spaced out. It would have fit better in a 9x9. It really was almost inedible and I certainly wouldn't call it a cobbler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
While making this recipe, I discovered my oven was out of propane, so I cooked it in my slow cooker. I put the batter in and set it on high for an hour. Surprise--it was still good! It had a crust around the edges and a gooey center. It could have cooked longer, but I had very hungry book study participants. I served it with vanilla greek yogurt on top. Next time I'd like to try it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very easy and flexible recipe. Because this uses fresh fruit which is highly variable you will need to adjust sugar, I picked and pitted my cherries immediately before making this and my cherries were tart enough to make my mouth pucker, I used the 3/4 cup of sugar in my cherries but had closer to 2 3/4 cups of cherrries. Perfect sweetness for my taste. My cherries were especially juicy and thus made more of a sauce on the bottom of the pan, more like an upside down cobbler. I have made this with "drier" cherries and it turns out as more of a "studded" with cherries cake, pouring the batter into the hot butter makes nice crispy, chewy edges. I do decrease the sugar in the cake by 1/3cup as I like my desserts not overly sweet. So taste your cherries, adjust sugar accordingly and enjoy. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was a huge hit with the folks at work. I substituted peaches for the cherries and made it for my tatting group and they loved it. Great easy recipe. I made 3 minor changes/additions - I added a beaten egg and a dash of vanilla to the batter and used self raising flour instead of the all-purpose flour and baking powder. 1 serving is less calories than an average candy bar. Two thumbs up for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was a wonderfully simple recipe! I had everything needed already in the kitchen and back yard! We just moved to a house with cherry trees and I have never made a cobbler before. The only thing I would change is more cherries. I was in a hurry to make this so didn't read the reviews that suggest to do so. All in all a fabulous recipe and definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States