Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
As written I would have to give this a four but I added some stuff that I thought brought it up to 5*s. I used 7 roma tomatos (pureed 2 of them), used a whole vidila onion, added 1 c. of corn & 1 c. of black beans (drained & rinsed), I didn't seed the jalapeno & I also added one habanero (I did seed it). At the end, hubby & I argued as to whether it needed a bit of sugar or vinegar, I won the arguement & we added 1 tbp. plus 1 tsp. of white wine vinegar... this really helped bind the flavors together & strangely enough, seemed to add the bit of sweetness my hubby thought it needed. I think we may have just made the best salsa ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This is quick, easy and delicious! Hint though. After chopping the tomatoes, I drain them in a collander for a while to eliminate some of the excess liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This is the same recipe I have been making for ages. Everyone loves it, and there is never enough, no matter how much I make. The great thing about it is that you can simply adjust the amounts of the different ingredients to make it the way you like. I like it spicy, so I throw the seeds in with the peppers. Also, red onion works really well in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is a good basic salsa...now if you really want to make it a California salsa you need to add at least one avocado and do not use so much garlic, unless you are looking for a Gilroy taste. Gilroy, California is known for its garlic every-thing...garlic perfume, garlic ice cream etc. Lets just stick to our basic salsa. Buen provecho !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
OUTSTANDING recipe. I let it sit over night so let the ingredients meld together and man oh man was this salsa wonderful. I will make it again and again. Thank you Cecilia D for sharing such a greatrecipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This Salsa turned out GREAT!! I did add a fresh green bell pepper from our garden and used 6 tomatoes. I only used a 1/4 cup of cilantro, to make it to my familiys' taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Too much cilantro....if I try it again, I will definitely cut back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
ICK! Too much cilantro and too much garlic. I ended up throwing it away. Basic idea is good, just reduce cilantro and garlic so it isn't so strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
What a delicious recipie I added an avacado made it just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
This salsa was nothing special. It needed to be zipped up alot. I added another jalepeno, alot of fresh ground pepper and salt, some fresh lemon and lime juice and it still came out just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States