Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
I love this recipe. The first time I made it, I used fresh summer tomatoes and it was amazing. The other time, the tomatoes I had didn't look very good, so I used petit cut canned tomatoes and it still turned out really good. The fresh cilantro is what really makes this salsa fantastic. I also used it with mashed avocados to make guacamole and it turned out wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Yuck... I was so disappointed in this recipe. It was very bland and even after addind more lime juice some hot sauce and a few other things I still could not eat it. This is the only recipe on this site that I have rated less than a four. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
VERY GOOD SALSA, SERVE WITH LIME CHIPS FOR SOMETHING DIFFERENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Just made this with garden fresh tomatoes and jalapenos. Couldn't get fresh cilantro so substituted dried. Turned out wonderful! We like our salsa a bit spicy, so I put in 2 jalapenos and added some ground cayenne pepper to taste as well as a pinch of sugar. Tastes better the longer it sits!...if it gets a chance to! We plan to can this one for winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Yumm.... I've made this a few times now for parties and everytime there's at least one person that wants the recipe. The only change I make is doubling the recipe to serve more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I used fresh Anaheim peppers from a friend's garden and they gave a nice little tingle to my salsa. The end result was a little runny so I strained out some of the excess liquid. I just used my blender to pulse the veggies instead of all that time consuming dicing, mincing and chopping and I loved the results. Just be careful not to over-process. Thank you Cecilia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Good, however would make some changes if I make this recipe again. I would use seeded roma tomatoes for a heartier tomato flavor and green onions instead of regular white. I made the recipe according to the directions and found the taste to be good, but average for a homemade salsa recipe. I added freshly ground black pepper and some tabasco, which helped give a more zesty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
Very good salsa! Chopped it all in the blender and it was simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
My kids love it. Everyone thats tasted it absolutely has to have the recipe.....THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I had to add a few changes, but all in all its a good recipe. Adding a few romano tomatoes and an anaheim chili, plus a touch of catsup (sounds funny but its a good touch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARONANDLYSLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States