Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was a good basic salsa recipe. It really helps to read the tips from other reviewers, that is why I love allrecipes so much! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe was perfect. Couldn't think of a better way to use up the tomatoes from my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good taste! I accidently used lemon juice instead of lime but the taste was still good. Otherwise followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is the exact recipe I always use (except I never measure and just eyeball it). Best salsa ever, hands down. Sometimes I add a splash of red wine vinegar...sometimes not. Every time I bring this to a party it gets gobbled up right away. People request that I bring it. Also, mix a few spoonfuls in with mashed avocado and you have the most amazing guacamole on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Mmmm, this recipe reminds me of the salsa of certain taquerias that were renowned for their salsa. As a true Californian, I frown on the other reviewers that suggest adding corn and black beans or avocado to this salsa (are you even from California?!). This salsa is certainly Californian cuisine. I'd recommend blending half of the ingredients in a food processor and mixing it with the rest of the chopped ingredients to obtain the consistently that you come to expect from most taquerias. I noticed that using half of a normal/small-sized jalepeño yields mild heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris &  Leela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah & Bull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
excellent recipe!! I have made it over and over. Now that fresh tomatoes are out of season I use half fresh and half canned to give it the rich red color, and it still comes out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I'd never made salsa before trying this recipe, but my husband misses "real" california/mexican food and I thought it would be a nice treat for him. He said it was the best salsa he'd ever had. I thought he was kidding me considering he's likely had many different salsas being from california and salsa being served with nearly everything. Have made it twice now over a couple of weeks and it will be a staple in our home! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYFROG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
best with fresh garden tomatoes! it's more of a pico de gallo which is my favorite kind of fresh salsa if you want jar salsa buy it if you want fresh from the garden healthy and great taste this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayona Forehand Styve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Very tasty! I did not use the full amount of cilantro called for. It was eaten over a period of 3 days and was as good the last day as it was the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States