Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This is the exact recipe I always use (except I never measure and just eyeball it). Best salsa ever, hands down. Sometimes I add a splash of red wine vinegar...sometimes not. Every time I bring this to a party it gets gobbled up right away. People request that I bring it. Also, mix a few spoonfuls in with mashed avocado and you have the most amazing guacamole on the planet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Mmmm, this recipe reminds me of the salsa of certain taquerias that were renowned for their salsa. As a true Californian, I frown on the other reviewers that suggest adding corn and black beans or avocado to this salsa (are you even from California?!). This salsa is certainly Californian cuisine. I'd recommend blending half of the ingredients in a food processor and mixing it with the rest of the chopped ingredients to obtain the consistently that you come to expect from most taquerias. I noticed that using half of a normal/small-sized jalepeño yields mild heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris &  Leela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah & Bull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
excellent recipe!! I have made it over and over. Now that fresh tomatoes are out of season I use half fresh and half canned to give it the rich red color, and it still comes out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I'd never made salsa before trying this recipe, but my husband misses "real" california/mexican food and I thought it would be a nice treat for him. He said it was the best salsa he'd ever had. I thought he was kidding me considering he's likely had many different salsas being from california and salsa being served with nearly everything. Have made it twice now over a couple of weeks and it will be a staple in our home! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYFROG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
best with fresh garden tomatoes! it's more of a pico de gallo which is my favorite kind of fresh salsa if you want jar salsa buy it if you want fresh from the garden healthy and great taste this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rayona Forehand Styve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Very tasty! I did not use the full amount of cilantro called for. It was eaten over a period of 3 days and was as good the last day as it was the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This was OK but somehow the flavor wasn't quite what I was looking for. I LOVE cilantro, but this actually had too much for me. I would reduce it to 1/4 c next time. I tried adding cumin and a little vinegar to try and help the flavor, but it still didn't do it for me. Sorry, I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Hope, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Sorry, this wasn't my favourite:( I had high expectations and thought it would get better after sitting in the refrigerator but it just wasn't the case. I guess you either love cilantro or hate it. Having never used fresh I know I'm in the latter. Besides which, the salsa just seemed to fall all over the place, needed something to bind it all together. Yes, it was like a brushetta (which i love) but i didn't want brushetta, i wanted salsa to dip my chips in!! If you're looking for something similar to that in a jar this is not for you (or me)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This was really good. I enjoyed it with blue corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States