Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I have never made homemade salsa in my life. After reviewing numerous recipes on this site, I decided to give it a try. I did not follow any one recipe. I instead made my own recipe based on reviewing the many different styles on this site. I used 1 30oz can of whole skinned tomatoes, 2 10oz cans of rotell (sic) diced tomatoes and green Chilli peppers, 1 small jalapeño pepper withsseed pod removed, 1 small red pepper with seed pod removed, 1 small yellow onion, 1 small purple onion, 3 full gloves of garlic, 3 small limes, 2 cups of cilantro, 2 tablespoons of salt, and 1 teaspoon of sugar. I chopped the onions, peppers and the garlic. Mixed in bowl all the ingredients after draining the tomatoes. I then spoon feed the salsa in a chopper until it reached a smooth consistency. My wife loves it and I may have to make it all the time. Made about 1 gallon of salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very good, simple salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Very nice.....just love that salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
One of my favorite salsa recipes. very versatile. sometimes I omit the jalapenos or use another type of pepper instead. Once in awhile I'll add a dash of cinnamon to give it a sweeter spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very easy recipe and tastes a lot better than store bought ones. tastes even more better the next day and everytime i make this for a party, they ask for the recipe. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
It is amazing! i doubled the recipe and added a little bit of sugar and rosemary. We also chopped up some green pepper and yellow grape tomatos..... everything except the onion was fresh from our garden. This is great recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I love this salsa!!!!!! I used all fresh tomatoes , jalapeno peppers and cucumbers from our garden. I put 6 peppers.......did not clean out the seeds...we like it hot. The cucumbers just blended in with everything else. Those people who don't think this is a great salsa.......prob. didn't add enough salt. The salt is very important. The celantro is wonderful. It really makes the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Very good basic recipe, much like my own. I only use about 1/2 that much cilantro and throw in several jalapeno's and usually a serrano as well as we like our salsa to have a little kick. I also grate about a half teaspoon of the lime peel into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I went exactly by the recipe and enjoyed it very much. However, I felt it was lacking some kick. This recipe is more of a pico de gallo like you get in a Mexican restaurant. It might have had more heat if I had left some of the pepper seeds in the recipe. It was however delicious! I used it in beef fajitas and my family ate it with chips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I pureed two of the tomatoes with the onion, garlic, cilantro, diced chilies (I used half of a 4 oz. can of miled green chilies instead of the jalapeno because I don't have jalapenos on hand AND because I was feeding two kids this salsa, so I wanted it to be a bit tamer) and the lime juice. I did add just a touch of cumin. After I pureed it, I folded it into the two remaining diced tomatoes. I made it early in the morning so it would have time to sit before dinner. I did not try this myself but my husband said it was very good, though it had a little too much onion for him. Next time I'll cut back just a touch and use a quarter of a large onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States