Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Great simple salsa. It definitely satisfied my salty/spicy craving, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Worked well for me... I've just used a few drops of Tabasco for the Jalapeno pepper, which I didn't have. Will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I have made this salsa countless times over the past few years and always get RAVE reviews!! I have become famous among my friends, and this is my specialty when it comes to potlucks :) Many thanks to the chef! Personally I end up adding the entire jalapeno as it takes quite a bit for it to be the right amount of picante. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Refreshing, tasty, and healthy! This is soo much better than store bought salsa, easy to make, and free of all the preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BornRD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pigeon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
As written, I would rate this salsa in the two range; it has far too much of a cilantro aura (I reduced the amount to 1/2 cup, will reduce to 1/4 cup next time, but it was still too strong). Without modification, the flavor struck me as bitter. With so much freshness, including the tomatoes, as I taste tested, I became frustrated, thinking it should taste better than it did. Finally, I added a teaspoon of sugar, which seemed to almost eliminate the bitterness. I should note, that my son thought it was great, as is. This is the third salsa recipe I've tried. I will try it again with modifications, but will also keep searching for the definitive salsa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Oh my, this is a great salsa recipe. I seeded and drianed the tomato. I did use less cilantro than called for. I used juice from one lime and used juice from a one lemon.(Did you know if you nuke a lemon or lime before juicing for 20 seconds you get way more juice!) I almost freaked out when I forgot to save this recipe to "my recipes" and then it was requested that I make it for a birthday party. Luckily for me I found it again and I'll never lose it again! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I didn't have cilantro and this was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This was a good basic salsa recipe. It really helps to read the tips from other reviewers, that is why I love allrecipes so much! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I thought this recipe was perfect. Couldn't think of a better way to use up the tomatoes from my garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good taste! I accidently used lemon juice instead of lime but the taste was still good. Otherwise followed directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States