Fresh California Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I reviewed this a couple years ago, but decided to upgrade my rating. I just made this with some garden tomatoes a friend gave me. I don't really measure anything. I threw the garlic, onion and cilantro in the food procesor and pulsed it a few times, then added the seeded chopped fresh tomatoes. Salt, lime juice and a 1/2 tsp of cumin and this is the best one I've made. Oh, I did up the jalapenos to 3,seeded, but w/ the membrane. We like it hot. Garden fresh tomatles make such a difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
Good, basic, and easy for beginners. Beware of the jalopeno seeds though! If you choose to add them they really crank up the fire of the entire recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
This is a good basic salsa...now if you really want to make it a California salsa you need to add at least one avocado and do not use so much garlic, unless you are looking for a Gilroy taste. Gilroy, California is known for its garlic every-thing...garlic perfume, garlic ice cream etc. Lets just stick to our basic salsa. Buen provecho !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Great Salsa! You don't even have to have the recipe, just make it to taste! Wonderful, healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
What a delicious recipie I added an avacado made it just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
I too make this salsa all the time, and never measure anything. We love it, although I usually add chopped fresh avocado to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
This salsa was nothing special. It needed to be zipped up alot. I added another jalepeno, alot of fresh ground pepper and salt, some fresh lemon and lime juice and it still came out just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Just got to love salsa :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
This recipe is great. The only suggestion I would make is to add the seeds of the jalapeno if you want a real kick. You can add half of the seeds and then taste it. If you want a real fire, add the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROXIELADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Too much cilantro....if I try it again, I will definitely cut back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States