Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I made it vegan with vegan mayonnaise instead of regular mayo and I used non-meat crunchy bacon pieces, a half a red onion all ingredients were organic except no meat bacon pieces. I also chose to use cashews instead if almonds and added 1 shredded carrot. Mmmm it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Not one thing wrong with this yummy salad as-is. Doubled the recipe to make sure I had leftovers for lunch the next day. Make sure to use thick-cut bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Yes..I loved it. I think less sugar would work too. But overall a good receipe. Great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Huge hit at a pot luck. I make this salad on a regular basis although I use fat free mayo and splenda instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Used sunflower seeds instead of almonds. Made it the day before so the broccoli could marinate in the dressing but waited to add bacon and seeds until just before serving so they would stay crispy. This made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I usually love this recipe, but I decided to make some changes based on other reviews, and just want to make everyone aware of what happened. First, I read a review of someone who blanched the broccoli. While the color was absolutely beautiful, the broccoli held just way too much water and I couldn't get it dry enough (even after squeezing it in between my hands in paper towels over and over and over again!). I also added the red onion to the dressing and let it sit overnight in the fridge so the onions weren't so potent. While the taste was still good, the dressing did something to the onions and they (the onions) appeared very runny in the dressing if that makes sense (but it was not noticeable once mixed in). My biggest disappointment was that the broccoli was no longer super crispy/crunchy...just "kinda crunchy". I guess I just need to stick to how I like recipes, but welcome the "tweeks" others suggest. This salad normally goes super fast at potlucks I attend; this time it just didn't work out for me...or fellow potluckers so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
made it today went away for a 4 hours came home and tried it and its just what i wanted. that dressing is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I did everything exactly except I added some grated mild cheddar cheese. Love the taste and textures....yummy!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Wow - I used fresh local brocolli,Ready to Use Real Bacon pieces,toasted sliced almonds, and a handful each of dried blueberries and craisens. This salad acted as our only side with bar-b-qued chicken thighs when the temperatures soared this week in the Annapolis Valley to +32C. It was great and I will certainly make it again. I did cut the onion to about 1/4 cup, but that is a personal thing and our latest red onions have been fairly strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Just tried this recipe this past weekend and LOVED IT! I used golden raisins and slivered almonds (versus sliced almonds). I also sauteed the red onion in a little bit of the bacon grease just to give the salad more "bacon flavor" (I really LOVE bacon!). This salad is just THE BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 717) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States