Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is like one my family has made for a long time but instead of almonds, we use pistachios, roasted pine nuts or walnuts. The almond flavor gets lost in the dressing next to the onions. We use dried cranberries instead of raisins to get an tangy/sweet next to the salty flavors. It also adds a splash of color that is very appealing. Also, we top it with some bacon cooked crunchy in small pieces. We dont usually put this salad together until right before it will be served as the bacon, nuts and fruit have a tendency to get mushy overnight and lose a lot of fun and interesting texture. Try it with cranberries, bacon and a stronger flavored nut and it is perfection. The dressing on this recipe is spot on. If you dont have vinegar, you can use lemon juice and honey also is a wonderful sub. for sugar for smooth flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica McElwee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Similar to other reviewers I used half the onion, half light mayonnaise with other half light sour cream ... may have used a little more sour cream. I didn't have raisins so used dried cherries. I wasn't sure about the raw broccoli and how it would taste in a salad but the whole combination was fabulous, and perfect for our 100+ degree weather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Waitsburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
The dressing on this was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Made this without onion. Used dried cranberries instead of raisins and sliced roasted almonds. To make it even quicker and easier I used pre-packaged bacon pieces. Yum!! Will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I leave out the raisins and nuts from this salad. They just doesn't seem to go with the rest of the ingredients to me. I also use 2 cups of mayo, and don't use Miracle Whip, totally changes the taste. Also, I add about 8 oz of shredded cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Put all of the ingredients except the raisins in the food processor and then mixed all together. I didn't have white wine vinegar so I used apple cider vinegar instead. Came out delish! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I also like to add some dried cherries and blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It was way too sweet. I didn't put in onions, maybe the sugar balances things out... But with no onions, I'll add WAY less (like 1/4 cup) next time. Or no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I added broccoli slaw and shredded red cabbage. I used fancy raisins,and added a pinch of pure maple syrup and a tad less sugar. Upped the servings to 20 for a big party. It was ALL eaten ! Huge hit, and they asked for the recipe too. Tasted better after three hours of refigeration. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Very good salad but made a few modifications. Decreased sugar to 1/4 Cup and used Craisins and roasted sunflower kernels instead of raisins and almonds. Family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy cain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States