Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
My family and I didn't care for this...too sweet and I even cut the sugar down :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I love it, my family loves it, perfect strangers love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I have made this broccoli salad for different occasions and always get asked for the recipe! I made a couple of changes. First, I decided to use sunflower seeds instead of almonds. I also bought the pre-packaged bacon bits (the real stuff) and added in shredded carrots for extra crunch! I used 1/2 the dressing and it still comes out fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Great change from the normal salad! Added a little extra bacon and went light on the onions. Added salt and pepper to balance the sweetness of the dressing. My husband doesn't like raisins, so I left them out of the bowl and added them as a side option. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I made it vegan with vegan mayonnaise instead of regular mayo and I used non-meat crunchy bacon pieces, a half a red onion all ingredients were organic except no meat bacon pieces. I also chose to use cashews instead if almonds and added 1 shredded carrot. Mmmm it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Not one thing wrong with this yummy salad as-is. Doubled the recipe to make sure I had leftovers for lunch the next day. Make sure to use thick-cut bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Yes..I loved it. I think less sugar would work too. But overall a good receipe. Great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Huge hit at a pot luck. I make this salad on a regular basis although I use fat free mayo and splenda instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Used sunflower seeds instead of almonds. Made it the day before so the broccoli could marinate in the dressing but waited to add bacon and seeds until just before serving so they would stay crispy. This made a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I usually love this recipe, but I decided to make some changes based on other reviews, and just want to make everyone aware of what happened. First, I read a review of someone who blanched the broccoli. While the color was absolutely beautiful, the broccoli held just way too much water and I couldn't get it dry enough (even after squeezing it in between my hands in paper towels over and over and over again!). I also added the red onion to the dressing and let it sit overnight in the fridge so the onions weren't so potent. While the taste was still good, the dressing did something to the onions and they (the onions) appeared very runny in the dressing if that makes sense (but it was not noticeable once mixed in). My biggest disappointment was that the broccoli was no longer super crispy/crunchy...just "kinda crunchy". I guess I just need to stick to how I like recipes, but welcome the "tweeks" others suggest. This salad normally goes super fast at potlucks I attend; this time it just didn't work out for me...or fellow potluckers so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States