Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very good recipe. I used sunflower seeds, because I had no almonds. I used less bacon and it was still very good. (and you cut down on salt, fat and cholesterol) and I added more broccoli as suggested. Also added a little balsamic vinegar dressing. Next time I will add a few dried cranberries to tweak it a little. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
This is great for a summer salad, next time I make it I'll add less sugar in the dressing. I used pecans, it complimented the salad very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Great recipe! I used only half an onion and only 1/8 cup of sugar to make this and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Inglezou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Love it, still getting request for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Yum! This salad was a big hit at two holiday parties I went to. I used sunflower seeds instead of almonds. I also only used about 1/2 of an onion. Make sure to make this before-hand and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours or overnight so that the flavors blend together. Another tip is to rinse the raisens in warm water so they plump up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
As previously stated, this is a great pot luck recipe. It holds up well when not being served right away. I rated 4 of 5 stars as the base flavours of fresh broccoli, onion and bacon are great together, however, I changed it up quite a bit to fit our tastes. I increased the broccoli to 3 large crowns, increased the bacon to 3/4 lb. of thick sliced bacon, chopped and then fried to crispy and drained on paper towel, reduced the red onion to approx. 1/4 cup so was not so over-powering, omitted the nuts and raisins and added 1 cup of grated, extra old Balderson's white cheddar cheese. For the dressing, I used 1 cup mayo with 2 Tbsp. of sugar and 4 Tbsp. of white wine vinegar (not so sweet). It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Easy and delicious. Used light mayo and everybody loved it. Bacon isn't crispy after sitting chilled for many hours though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I only used 1/2 red onion and even found that to be A LOT! Next time only adding 1/4 of an onion. I used my food processor to chop the onion. I am hoping the dressing will tame down the onion flavour as it sits in the fridge in the already dressed salad. Otherwise, it is a great recipe. I also took someone else's advice and substituted part of the mayo with sour cream. Added craisins and slivered almonds and bacon. Yummm! My big advice is reconsider the onion amount you are adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is such a tasty salad. Even my 3 year old (who despises broccoli) enjoys eating this. It's a staple for our Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. I substitute scallions in place of the onions. It still gives it a little kick, but is much less subtle. I also prepare everything the night before but keep the dressing separate. I add the dressing in the morning and let it marinate for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smccumbee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This salad is delicious. I usually make it without the almonds though. Also, for the dressing, I use Marie's cole slaw dressing(in the refrigerator section of the produce department).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States