Fresh Broccoli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Just finished making this and it's AMAZING even before letting it chill in the 'fridge!! I took some user's advice and used Red Wine Vinegar. I also reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup for personal preference. Thanks for what might be my new favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Used less onion but otherwise made it just like it said. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
i've made this several times already because I keep getting requests for it. Amazing, simple dish with a salty/sweet thing going on that will knock your socks off. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thomas Todaro

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious! Very easy and no cooking since I bought fully cooked bacon and just chopped it up! Stuck to the recipe, just a little less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Family favorite! I use a lot less onion. I stick with mayonnaise on this salad instead of miracle whip (my usual favorite) - that way it's not too sweet. My hubby doesn't like onions much but LUVS when I make this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is a favorite. When I take it to pot lucks, people always ask for the recipe. I add less than 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes to the mayo mixture, to give it a little heat. I don't add the bacon, nuts, and raisins, until just before serving, so they don't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I love it without the raisins and almonds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Prepared as written the first time. Made the following improvements the next time around: 1) blanch the broccoli in boiling water for 1 min, then submerge in ice water. Run broccoli through salad spinner before mixing with dressing. Helps maintain color and crunch. 2) Subbed honey for the white sugar (to taste). 3) Soaked raisins in hot water for 10 minutes to plump before adding. 4) Ran out of vinegar, but balsamic or red wine vinegar subs just fine. 5) To make ahead, mix broccoli, raisins, and onions and refrigerate. Make dressing and refrigerate. Add remaining salad ingredients and combine with dressing right before serving. Onions mellow out and flavor the salad better this way and no soggy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This was a hit when I made it for a dinner at my friends. She was skeptical at first because of the raw broccoli but she loved it. I used half of the onion and chopped it really fine and I toasted the almonds and then chopped them. I out the bacon in last right before serving it. Definitely making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Loved the variety of ingredients in this recipe. And you can see the ingredients , not weighted down by the dressing. Only thing I would change is just a little less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShamrockAngel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 714) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States