Fresh Blueberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Loved it. So fresh and summery. Added another cup and a half of berries and cut the sugar to half a cup. The sauce was a little thick, so I just added a little water at a time as I boiled it. Didn't add lemon or butter. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
The filling was fantastic! Nice and sweet, but not too sweet, thick. Whoever thought of putting fresh blueberries into the mix was a genius. The pie crust was good and had a great flavor. I truly enjoyed this strait out of the oven with a little vanilla ice cream. My only concern is that, while I love a thin pie crust as much as the next guy, it almost didn't reach the ends of the pan, which ended up being a little dark on the ends and thin. It was also very difficult to handle- very oily and crumbly. Eventually I just had to stop rolling it, crumble it up and push it into the pan myself. It was difficult. What saved it from loosing a star is it still ended up tasting great. Also, we were out of butter. So I replaced it with greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. It is so simple and easy and it tastes soooo good! I did not make my own crust, because it is just too easy to buy them and bake a few minutes in the oven. But I followed the recipe exactly. I think you should try this if you are looking for a quick easy recipe that's has a minimum of ingredients and is quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I was looking for a blueberry pie filling for a tart, and this was perfect. I cut down the lemon juice to 1 tsp. and it was great! Curious to see if this recipe would work with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BetteLovr1
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Fantastic.. had to use frozen Wymans Maine blueberries because there was a hurricane and stores were out of everything... would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteLovr1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I wasn't sure what to expect, what with mixing the fresh and the cooked blueberries, but this was delicious! Almost too sweet. Will probably use again when I get a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
our family loves this pie! i used the store bought roll-out crust to save time, and the filling just takes a few minutes, literally--couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My brother in law introduced us to a version of this pie years ago and it has been a family favorite. We often use frozen berries(using the drained liquid from thawing for the water) for the "sauce" and always fresh for the rest. I add way more blueberries so the pie is well mounded. I adjust the cornstarch and sugar depending on how thick and/or sweet I need it. We don't add the butter. I love the crust too! I just press it in the pie pan, don't mess with rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Oh my! Wonderful! I made this recipe exactly and also added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I increased the cornstarch to about 4-5 TBSP as well. I topped my pie with crumble topping and it was absolutely fabulous! TIP: If the dough is difficult to roll out, just place it in the pie dish and push it into the shape of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was a good recipe to make for gluten-free people. (I bought the gluten-free crust from Whole Foods.) However, next time I will use much less or no sugar. The blueberries add enough of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States