Fresh Blueberry Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Loved it. So fresh and summery. Added another cup and a half of berries and cut the sugar to half a cup. The sauce was a little thick, so I just added a little water at a time as I boiled it. Didn't add lemon or butter. A family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
The filling was fantastic! Nice and sweet, but not too sweet, thick. Whoever thought of putting fresh blueberries into the mix was a genius. The pie crust was good and had a great flavor. I truly enjoyed this strait out of the oven with a little vanilla ice cream. My only concern is that, while I love a thin pie crust as much as the next guy, it almost didn't reach the ends of the pan, which ended up being a little dark on the ends and thin. It was also very difficult to handle- very oily and crumbly. Eventually I just had to stop rolling it, crumble it up and push it into the pan myself. It was difficult. What saved it from loosing a star is it still ended up tasting great. Also, we were out of butter. So I replaced it with greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. It is so simple and easy and it tastes soooo good! I did not make my own crust, because it is just too easy to buy them and bake a few minutes in the oven. But I followed the recipe exactly. I think you should try this if you are looking for a quick easy recipe that's has a minimum of ingredients and is quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I was looking for a blueberry pie filling for a tart, and this was perfect. I cut down the lemon juice to 1 tsp. and it was great! Curious to see if this recipe would work with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BetteLovr1
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Fantastic.. had to use frozen Wymans Maine blueberries because there was a hurricane and stores were out of everything... would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteLovr1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I wasn't sure what to expect, what with mixing the fresh and the cooked blueberries, but this was delicious! Almost too sweet. Will probably use again when I get a craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
our family loves this pie! i used the store bought roll-out crust to save time, and the filling just takes a few minutes, literally--couldn't be easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
My brother in law introduced us to a version of this pie years ago and it has been a family favorite. We often use frozen berries(using the drained liquid from thawing for the water) for the "sauce" and always fresh for the rest. I add way more blueberries so the pie is well mounded. I adjust the cornstarch and sugar depending on how thick and/or sweet I need it. We don't add the butter. I love the crust too! I just press it in the pie pan, don't mess with rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Oh my! Wonderful! I made this recipe exactly and also added 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I increased the cornstarch to about 4-5 TBSP as well. I topped my pie with crumble topping and it was absolutely fabulous! TIP: If the dough is difficult to roll out, just place it in the pie dish and push it into the shape of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Newport
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was a good recipe to make for gluten-free people. (I bought the gluten-free crust from Whole Foods.) However, next time I will use much less or no sugar. The blueberries add enough of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States