Fresh Blueberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I made this for Father's day and it was SO delicious. It's 4 stars because the instructions were not clear and that made me feel very insecure while making the pie. If anyone else is lost and is using a top pie crust as well, this is what I did: 1. I laid a 9inch pre-made Pillsbury pie crust in a glass pie pan, baked it at 350 degrees for 10 minutes BEFORE EVERYTHING. 2. Pulled it out of the oven and poured a box of blueberries in the semi-baked shell. 3. Combined the rest of the ingredients in a sauce pan, including the remaining 2pints of blueberries. 3. Cooked it for lower heat until the sauce pan was high in blueberry sauce. You can add cinnamon or vanilla if you want. 4. Poured it on top of the uncooked blueberries in the pie, added a top criss-cross pie layer and baked it at 450 for about 11-13 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2004
This is an easy, and by far the best, blueberry pie I've ever made. The second time I tried it I made some changes: added 1/4t each vanilla and almond extract, and 1/8t cinnamon (will up it to 1/4t next time to try that). I changed the ratio of berries to 1 1/2C fresh and 2 1/2C cooked. I found 1/3C sugar worked well when serving the pie with ice cream. I look forward to making this pie because it's such a treat. Thanks, Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Is the flour, butter, lemom juice and sugar suppose to be cooked on the stove with the blueberries? The recipe was not specific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 88gurl
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I made this pie last night and it was excellent! I'm not a baker at all but this turned out wonderful using ready-made pie crusts. I bought 2 bottom crusts and used one as the top crust. I modified the recipe by adding in some strawberries and cinnamon. I baked the bottom crust for about 10 minutes and set aside to cool. I cooked the pie filling using 2 cups of frozen blueberries (thawed, rinsed and drained) and 1 cup of fresh, sliced strawberries. I followed recipe exactly except for adding in 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I put the fresh blueberries into the bottom crust then poured the cooked filling on top, put on the top crust and baked for another 15 minutes until browned. I served it with whipped cream. It was delicious! My daughter, who claimed she didn't like pie, gobbled up a whole piece! I chose this recipe because it didn't use cornstarch. The filling tasted very fresh and the fresh blueberries were still firm and just popped in your mouth. Next time I think I'll reduce the sugar just a bit and I might even try my hand at making my own pie crust. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 88gurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Homewood, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
This recipe is SUPER easy and SUPER delish! I baked it for some friends and they gobbled it right up. We picked blueberries, so they were very fresh and large, and the pie was just the right amount of sweet and tart. The lemon juice isn't overpowering, and the fact that a layer of blueberries isn't cooked means you'll have a pie that won't completely fall apart or get runny. This is my new blueberry pie recipe - why mess with perfection?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
The taste was wonderful, however, when cooking the blueberries, the flour, butter and lemon juice mixture was so thick and did not loosen even when the blueberries started to pop. I added more butter and lemon juice and it helped. Next time I will not use as much flour. But, I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by egard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was the first time I've ever made blueberry pie. The only blueberry pie I've eaten is store-brought, and this was better. I never liked the overly-sweet, pudding-consistency texture of pies, and this was not too sweet, nor too gooey. I loved actually tasting the blueberry. Ate it with vanilla ice cream, and it was too delicious for words. I scarfed it down, and so did my brother, who usually calls my baking . He didn't even try to disguise his pleasure this time, asking me to bake another one. I followed suggestions and used a teaspoon of cinnamon, plus half-teaspoons of vanilla and almond extract. Now, I was slightly puzzled on how to put a top-pie-crust on it. The recipe doesn't describe baking. So after I finished all the instructions, I baked the pie for ten minutes at 450 degrees F - with a top lattice-strip crust. It didn't affect the rest of the pie too much. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very flavorful pie. I added 1/4 tsp vanilla, almond extract and cinnamon. I also used more berries. Even though I forgot to add flour, it still turned out delicious! (I won't make that mistake again). It was a little running, but not a disaster. Just a note: it's important to taste the berries before you begin, so you can adjust the sugar accordingly. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhasset, New York, USA
Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
The best blueberry pie I've made. It has that fresh blueberry taste because it isn't baked. Great for dessert after a bbq. Be sure to refrigerate before serving though orelse it will fall apart. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My son love's blueberry pie. so I made this one...and he loved it...best ever was his commetI did the cinn. and vanilla like others said
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States