Fresh Blueberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This is the worst tasting pie i have ever made. AS stated in another review, the nutmeg was wrong. Also too much salt. Hope to find a good recipe soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Made this yesterday within hours of picking my blueberries and it was GREAT! I didn't have any lemons to zest, so I just added a little extra lemon juice. I made a note on my copy of the recipe to reduce the sugar (some), if I am using freshly picked blueberries... it was a little sweet, probably because the blues berries were so fresh. OH! two more things, I didn't use the nutmeg and used about 5 1/2 cups of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I'm giving this 3 stars for flavor...... the pie didn't set-up properly (as I read in several reviews as well) even after several hours cooling. When cut, it was runny and you could see the tapioca 'balls' just sitting in the mixture. Not sure what happened but I'll try it again while Blueberries are still in season. My top crust looked beautiful though. I was thrilled at that ~ the pie was certainly edible, just not jelled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
The nutmeg was a deal breaker. The flavor overtook the pie- we could not even taste the blueberry flavor! Not one single person at turkey day dinner enjoyed this pie. Omit the nutmeg and it should be perfect though- the tapioca gives a nice texture, unlike the "gummy" texture from cornstarch thickened pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Too lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I had bought a large amount of fresh blueberries which were on sale and after making some bluberry muffins and using them on cereal I used the rest to make this pie. My husband raved about it. I added some cinnamon. I did not care for the nutmeg flavor so won't use it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was very good, but the next time I will leave out the nutmeg completely. I had reduced it to an 1/8 tsp, but still didn't like the nutmeg flavor. I doubled the tapioca and did 6 cups of blueberries. This required a longer cook time, but was well worth it. No problems with it being to runny. It is important to let it set for at least 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
easy and amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is the same as my mom used back in 1940. Now three generations of our family use it all the time. It can be rolled over again if you mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Slack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Photo by missnepa
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe was excellent! This is the very first pie I ever baked, it turned out wonderful! I used a 9.5" deep pie plate. I ended up using about 7 cups of blueberries and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I did sprinkle a little extra white sugar over the top after I filled up the pie. It was perfect! Thick, not running, sweet but not sickening. Everyone loved it! It was so easy and I will definitely make it again. I used frozen blueberries and let them sit in luke warm water for an hour to defrost. See my picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States