Fresh Blueberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
this has to be the best blueberry pie recipe I have tried. I didn't have tapioca so I used cornstarch and that worked well. it was juicy but not runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I used this recpie for my town's pie baking contest - I have never baked a blueberry pie before (I come from South Africa where we don't have lots of blueberries!) - and it came in second place by one point! I did up the temperature for the balance of the cooking time - after the ten minutes I reduced the oven to 400F for about 25 minutes. I think the cooking time depends on what pastry crust you use. I was very excited when the judges cut the pie to see that it was juicy but not runny - and I used frozen blueberries that I rinsed in a strainer and left to drain for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
How much of a difference a half inch makes! I used a 9.5 inch pie plate instead of a 9, and was wishing I had used 6 cups of blueberries instead of 4. Tapioca produces much better results than cornstarch. I forgot to add butter to the filling. There was no adverse effect to the filling. In the future, I will probably leave this out on purpose to make a dent in the saturated fat. This is my preferred recipe for blueberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was an excellent recipe. Just perfect. Instead of 4 cups of blueberries, I used about 6, and didn't even need to alter the other ingrediants. Not too sweet, not too tart. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I made this recipe after my family and I picked 15 lbs of blueberries. It was "Out of his World" as my dad said. I did add about an extra 2 cups of blueberries though, and I only used the lemon juice, no lemon rind. It turned out fabulous. I will definately use this recipe whenever I make bluebery pie! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Two words describe this pie...absolutely fabulous!! My boyfriend, a die-hard apple pie lover, says this is by far the best the pie he has ever eaten. I made 1 1/2 times the recipe because I like thicker pies, and it turned out beautifully. I also used frozen blueberries, didn't have the lemon rind and forgot to dot with butter...I can't imagine how wonderful this pie must be with fresh berries and all of the ingredients! :) This pie is so easy to make and has a wonderful flavor....definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was excellent! Next time, however, I will cut down on the lemon zest as I thought it was a bit much. Some complained that the pie was runny; to solve this, you NEED to let the pie set!! Fruit pies will still be a little runny after baking and need several hours to set. This pie is no exception. I let mine set overnight and it was perfect. Another tip is to make sure you give the blueberries ample time to stand in the mixture (before pouring into the pie crust). You will notice how much it thickens depending on how much time you allow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My DH doesn't usually go for blueberry pie, but he and all our friends RAVED over this pie! Definitely a keeper! I used a 10" pie pan, so I upped the blueberries to 6 c. (3 pints), and added an extra T. of flour. But otherwise kept recipe the same. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
made the pie in a 4" spring form since this was a leftover dough project... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
My dad requested a blueberry pie like he remembers from his childhood and this one delivered! I've never even eaten blueberry pie so it was a tasty surprise, and much easier than the fresh cherry pie I also made. I used fresh blueberries (make sure they are sweet and flavorful!) and reduced the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States