Fresh Blueberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Madelyn
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
WOW......delicious pie. I added 1 Tbsp. cinnamon, 2 Tbsp. vanilla, and 3-4 Tbsp. tapioca and the flour too. I also added 2 granny smith apples sliced very thin. They sort of disappear into the blueberries. I used 6 cups fresh. This was perfect consistency, and not too sweet, a very good balance. Someone told me that blueberry pie was too sweet, so I added the apples for balance. It worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madelyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I couldn't find a recipe that didn't specify using fresh blueberries, and I wanted to use frozen. This recipe worked pretty well. I used all tapioca instead of tapioca and flour to thicken the filling, adding extra because I figured frozen berries would be jucier. As a result I got a somewhat jellied texture. If you are using frozen berries, I would recommend using the recipe's stated amount of thickeners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPMJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The family (at least those that like berry pies) loved this recipie. The 4 cups of blueberries is not sufficient if you are making a deep-dish pie or your pie plate happens to be a 10" like mine -- I needed around 6 cups to fill it up. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I started to make this not realizing that I didn't have lemon juice or zest, so I used an orange instead and it was a neat little change! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Blueberry pie is my favorite but I couldn't find a recipe I really liked. I have made this recipe a few times now and it turns out perfect every time and my family loves it. thank you so much for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This recipe was a big disappointment and waste of 4 cups of fresh blueberries. I followed the recipe and the filling was soggy and runny. I would NOT recommend it to anyone. I will use it as an ice cream topping since it's a runny mess. I even doubled the tapioca and it still didn't set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I dont know what went wrong. I made the pie using blueberries I picked and they were very tart so i figured if i made a pie the sugar would sweeten them up, I even used extra sugar - the pie was VERY tart and unenjoyable - plus it was very runny. I've made a few blueberry pies before and never really enjoyed them either - maybe its just me....guess i need to stick to cheesecakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chibi chef
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
How much of a difference a half inch makes! I used a 9.5 inch pie plate instead of a 9, and was wishing I had used 6 cups of blueberries instead of 4. Tapioca produces much better results than cornstarch. I forgot to add butter to the filling. There was no adverse effect to the filling. In the future, I will probably leave this out on purpose to make a dent in the saturated fat. This is my preferred recipe for blueberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Fantastic! I made them in small oven-safe bowls for personal pies. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
There's not much better than a fresh blueberry pie when blueberries are in season. Yum yum yum. I used 2 square boxes of fresh blueberries, and cornstarch in place of tapioca, 1/3 cup sugar in place of 2/3, and it was fantastic. Loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States