Fresh Blueberry Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made a blueberry pie. I used frozen blueberries and it turned out great! It was hard to make and got good reviews at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was excellent! Next time, however, I will cut down on the lemon zest as I thought it was a bit much. Some complained that the pie was runny; to solve this, you NEED to let the pie set!! Fruit pies will still be a little runny after baking and need several hours to set. This pie is no exception. I let mine set overnight and it was perfect. Another tip is to make sure you give the blueberries ample time to stand in the mixture (before pouring into the pie crust). You will notice how much it thickens depending on how much time you allow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Best blueberry pie I ever tasted even after I cheated with store bought crust. I was leary of the nutmeg....but it is very subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
delicious! i followed the recipe exactly. it tastes great, i gave it only 4 stars because it is runny. maybe upping the tapioca amount to 1/4 cup would do the trick? although it is runny, it's something i will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I did everything right and got the same runny results that others mentioned. I used frozen blueberries, so that may be the problem. It tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this and my husband kept going back for more. I also used corn starch in place of the tapioca. We loved that the filling didn't run all over the pie plate when it was cut. It is probably the best blueberry pie we have tasted. Thanks Carol for sharing this. It definitely deserves 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is the best blueberry pie I have ever tasted. I did not have lemons so I used lime juice and zest and it was delicious!!!! Everyone loved it. I will be making it again and again. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I never made blueberry pie before and this was really easy. I did use a frozen deep dish pie crush, fresh blueberries with extra lemon juice & zest. Substituted cornstarch for tapioca (less expensive). I also used a ceramic blackbird to release steam and had a perfect pie, not runny at all. Flavor was awesome. Calorie count not bad for pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I followed the recipe as stated except I substituted 1T of cornstarch for the tapioca after I read another review stating that it worked. Well, the pie came out very runny but the flavor was great. The lemon juice and zest really works well with the blueberries adding just a bit of tartness to the sweetness of the blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was a great way to use up the 2 pints of blueberries in my fridge. I used 1T cornstarch instead of tapioca, cinnamon instead of nutmeg, and added more lemon juice. I cooked 1 pt of blueberries and the sugar, cinnamon, and lemon juice together in a saucepan, then added it to the remaining blueberries and added 1 can blueberry pie filling (because I didn't have enough blueberries to really fill the pie, I don't think 2 is enough at all!!). I also brushed the crust with some milk while baking to keep golden and from burning, and baked a bit longer than the 30 minutes suggested. Came out fantastic!! Rating a 4 because I had to make those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmareVincere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States