Fresh Beet Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This really took me by surprise it was that good. I'm not a fan of beets but this was an amazing side dish. I left out the feta just because I don't care for it and I used spinach because thats what I had on hand. Will certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was awesome! I'm not a big fan of beets but this recipe was great. The only difference I made was using 9 bacon strips because that's what I had. I can't wait to have the leftover for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I've made this 3 times this summer...never with bacon because it doesn't grow in my garden with the chard and the beets! Still an amazing dish which even my kids enjoy. I trim the beets and boil them in their skins in a large pot just until I can stick a knife into them (crisp-tender). I then run them under cold water to slip the skins off, chop, and add them to the chard (or beet tops) with the peas. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I grew beets for the first time and was looking for a way to prepare them. I found this recipe and loved it! My picky son even ate it because it had bacon. I used beets and Swiss chard from my garden and fresh pea pods. I snapped the pods in half and barely cooked them. I am thinking about adding cannellini beans tonight and making this a one dish dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Eating both fresh beets and swiss chard were new flavors for my family. It was a pretty good recipe for us to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Bummer! This recipe evidently doesn't work well with vegetarian "bacon," which is what I used. Maybe you really do need the bacon fat to add flavor. Veggie bacon doesn't leave grease behind, and I found the dish to be pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This was surprisingly amazing dish! I have made this 3 x's now and the only thing I have changed to this recipe is add one can of garbonzo beans for added protein and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We loved this salad, will make it again. It was good warm but better the next day after refrigeration. I used more swiss chard than called for and also added the beet tops and some extra spinach. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This is a pretty tasty dish. However, there are some unnecessary ingredients to it. First, the peas get lost in the dish; just leave them out. Second, why is Swiss Chard used? You know, beets come with their own, very tasty greens! Simply choose beets with nice greens and use the whole plant. No need to dispose of the beet greens; it is wasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Really great recipe. I made it without the bacon to make it healthier and because I'm not a huge bacon fan, and it was still incredibly flavorful. Great combination of flavors and makes a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Broccoli Salad

See how to make a 5-star summer salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States