Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
This is a great meal when slightly altered, even my picky hubby liked it. I boiled the chicken to cook it, and added 2 boulion cubes. I used that as my chicken stock. I also boiled the asparagus for a few minutes in the stock, before adding it to the mix. I sauted the celery with the onion and added 2 cloves of garlic. I also added salt, pepper and basil along with the oregeno. My biggest diversion from the recipe was the addition of cream of mushroom. When I added the sour cream, it became very grainy and watery, so the cream of mushroom definitely helped. I think any cream of would do. I mixed everything together, and didn't layer it as described. finally, I topped it with a fancy shredded parm and romano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I thought this was a great recipe except I made a few changes to what I had on hand and what we prefer. I omitted the peppers and celery since I didn't have any and replaced with chopped onion, sundried tomatoes and mushroom. sauteed all veggies in olive oil (including the asparagus) and fresh chopped garlic, red pepper flakes before adding to sr.cream mixture. substituted 1/4 cooking wine & 3/4 cup broth. added can of cream of chicken soup with sour cream to give more sauce, I didn't think the sour cream would be enough and would dry up while cooking. I also substituted 1/2 cup basil (or cilantro) for oregano because those spices are our favorites and oregano is pretty bland. I also added some monterey jack and some crushed french fried onions to the top after putting it all together in the pan, I used a 9x13 casserole dish. This was one of the best dishes I've ever made and will certainly make it many times in the future. My husband also loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Everyone loved this dish. It does take quite a bit time to prep the dish but well worth it. I made it a little easier by just mixing the sauce with the noodles and pouring it into the casserole dish. I then just cut up the asparagus and stuck the pieces into the casserole. This is a yummy casserole!!! I used fat reduced sourcream and wholegrain egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I almost feel guilty reviewing this recipe because I changed it up so much! But the basics were there - chicken, asparagus, sour cream, parmesan and noodles. What I changed was in response to the reviews as to it being runny. Instead of using chicken stock, I used a can of cream of mushroom soup. I also sauteed the asparagus along with the onions and added garlic and mushrooms, omitted the red pepper (yuck!). Then instead of putting it in a casserole, I dumped it all in a crock pot and cooked it on low for 5-6 hours. Turned out great - flavor wasn't bland at all and it was saucy instead of soupy. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2003
Very Good... I used 1 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup mayonaise instead and thickened the sauce with flour & milk before assembling. I increased the noodles to 12 oz and assembled it in this order noodles, chicken, asparagus, noodles and topped it off with the remaining chicken and cheese.. It was well liked... Thanks for a great find.. Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Great recipe...by following other reviewer's suggestions and changing/adding a few other things on my own, this is a keeper! For starters, I used at least 10 oz's medium-width egg noodles, 2+ cups chicken, and only 1 cup sour cream. Next time, I'll try 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup cream of mushroom soup to cut down on the fat a little. Along with the onion, I sauteed a small (1/2lb?) box of white mushrooms. I didn't have straight oregano, so I substituted 1 tsp Italian herb mix, along with white pepper, red pepper flakes and seasoned salt to taste. Along with the simmering chicken mixture, I added 1/2 cup canned corn and 1TBSP flour to thicken. Thanx to a great reviewer's tip to speed the recipe up a bit, I did mix noodles, chicken mixture and asparagus all together before adding to the casserole dish;I only added 1/2 lb or so of asparagus because I wasn't sure if my husband and I liked a whole 1lb.! I topped it all off with a Parmesan/Monterey Jack cheese combo and breadcrumbs. It barely fit in a 2 quart casserole dish but aluminum foil lightly folded around the top and edges helped! After cooking it for 30 minutes, the asparagus was still quite crisp, which some people love, but I left it in for 5-10 more minutes...really tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This was a great recipe I will use again. Can't wait to try it on hubby. The only change I made was I simmered the asparagus with the chicken stock and saute' onions and celery together and added 2 cloves of garlic to the onions and celery this brought up the flavour quite a bit. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOHNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
this dish created soooo much water!!! I used all fresh veggies so i should've known better. the sour cream got all clumpy and gross. i dont know if i will make it again- at least change some of the ingredients first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Very dee-licious! I added yellow pepper also and used fresh asagio along with the fresh parmesan. I doubled the cheese amount. Some sweet basil and garlic powder were also added. Instead of layering in dish I just mixed it all together. Lots of flavor and texture. Will make often! Thanx kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
Delicious casserole. The sour cream gave it a nice bit of zing, that most cream sauces just don't have. In the future, I'll probably add a bit more spice. Great way to add asparagus to a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Kemp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States