Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Maybe this recipe has potential, but as is, it seems very bland to me. I added two cloves of garlic, a can of cream of chicken soup, some processed yellow squash (I try to sneak in veggies whenever I can), plus some salt and pepper. I tried it as soon as it came out of the oven, and, even after the additions, it still turned out quite tasteless. So, after it cooked, I added basil, quite a bit of garlic powder, more cheese, and stuck fresh mushrooms throughout, then put it in the fridge. When I heated it back up, I let it cook long enough for the 'shrooms to cook. It was better, but not outstanding. Still needs some zest (not the soap). I will peruse the reviews to see if anyone has good suggestions to zing this up a bit. I think this has potential to be a four-star recipe, but only two stars as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt M.
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe, but the rest of the family didn't like it as much. I had increased the seasonings and added significant garlic and onion powder, but it could use a little something extra. I also added sour cream for more moisture and shredded parmesan in the casserole. Also mixed it all together as others suggested. Also needs additional baking or pre-steaming/cooking of asparagus for asparagus to not be so crunchy. Overall, good...but needs many adjustments for flavor, cooking and assembly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Osceola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
So I'm rating MY version of the recipe b/c it did end up significantly different from the original. I did about 6 or 7 chicken tenders. I also used whole wheat pasta too. I used about half a bunch of asparagus, a half can of vegetable broth, red pepper, and dried onion, garlic and celery flakes and the oregano. I was out of sour cream, so I ended up substituting a package of lite cream cheese. I also didn't have any parm, so I used what I had, which was pizza cheese. And despite all that, it really turned out quite good. I think next time I would do a little more chicken and asparagus in the mix and up the spices just a smidge. Surprisingly, I really liked the cream cheese in it! I also left it covered for 20 minutes to help keep the noodles moist, and uncovered it the last 5-10 minutes. Oh, and I threw on some bacon bits as an afterthought when I took the lid off. That seemed to add just enough flavor without making it seem too bacon-tasting. I definitely will be making this version again with the few tweaks I mentioned! Thanks for a great place to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I just made this recipe last night for the first time. My family loved it. I was fairly easy. I would only suggest adding maybe 1 teaspoon kosher salt while assembling it, sprinkle over chicken mixture. I used "light" sour cream and I added 3 different cheeses on top of the casserole, which just added to the flavor. I used Asiago, Parm and Romano. I would also add 1-3 fresh pressed garlic cloves to the saute next time. I pulled up this recipe because I had all the ingredients and wanted to try something different. It worked out great!! I use a recipe as a "base" and add or take away items as I deem fit, I try to always put a healthy spin on recipes I try. My family is trying to eat as healthy as possible. I would recommend this recipe and we will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was really good! I did take the suggestions from others and cut down on the chicken stock and add a can of cream of chicken soup. I also threw in the asparagus with all of the other veggies to cook. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was an alright casserole. Definitely edible but not super. I think I didn't like the oregano. I used whole wheat rotini and that worked great. I cooked 2 chicken breasts in the olive oil then tossed in the onions, 3 cloves of garlic until tender. Then I added in the rest of the vegetables. I used 1 cup of chicken stock and brought to boil then covered and boiled for a few minutes to steam the asparagus. I used the 1/2t of oregano and also added a generous sprinkle of pepper and some cayenne. I added some flour in with only a cup of sour cream. I didn't have Parmesan so I used monteray jack and mixed some in with the casserole and then topped with some more. I didn't use layers, I just mixed it all together. It was a nice looking casserole, colorful and fairly healthy. I might try it again but omit the oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RN4L&D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Ew, no...this wasn't what I expected. My asparagus ~ very thin so it wouldn't be tough ~ was just that. Tough. We didn't care for this at all. Sorry! I really did want to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I served this casserole for a holiday party with 12 ladies. It was festive with the green asparagus and red bell pepper and everyone enjoyed it. I topped it with toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Really liked the flavor and color of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was okay...a little bland. I'm not sure what I would change to help it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States