Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I added chili flakes, fresh garlic, garlic salt, pepper, and half can of cream of mushroom soup. I cut the sour cream to about a 1/2 cup and left out the celery. It was still a tad runny, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
My family enjoyed this casserole but it wouldn't fit in a 1-1/2 qt. dish. It barely fit in a 2 qt. dish. My husband thought it needed more salt and it was a little runny, but we all had second helpings. I will make it again, possibly thickening the sauce with flour next time and adding more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
This is a nice "everyday" meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Yummy! Next time I might try to add a little garlic powder, or even replace the sour cream with cream of mushroom or cream of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
My family and I enjoyed this recipe. I used turkey rather than chicken and added a yellow pepper to the mixture. I used one cup of chicken broth and had no problems with that quantity. I added the asparagus to the other veggies because what I had was thick stemmed and it probably wouldn't have gotten very tender during baking. I also used low fat sour cream. I topped with freshly grated parmesan cheese and shredded colby-jack. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
i had to make this with green beens instead of asparagus...out of season...but it was still fantastic. I used the called for amount of chicken stock for simmering, but before adding the sauce to the dish, I pored some of the liquid out. I feel that made it not saucy enough though. I think next time I'll leave the stock the way it calls and see what happens. I also added the noodles to the veggie and sauce mixture, mixed it all up and then pored half in the casserole dish, placed the uncooked, fresh green beans on the mixture and then added the remaining noodle/veggie/sauce mixture. I topped with the called for parmesan and added 1/2 cup of shredded asiago cheese...it was great. Next time I think I will added half the parmesan to the mixture & top with the remaining and the asiago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladera Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
It was okay...I reduced the liquid and it was still watery, so I added a little flour mixed with water to thicken it up after cooking. Needed some salt and pepper also. I think next time I will add the flour while it's simmering and a little more seasonings. Will probably make again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
We enjoyed this recipe and will fix it again. The key is to simmer the ingredients for the full 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
We liked this a lot, but I was concerned about the abundant liquid other reviewers warned of, so I sauteed the asparagus before adding it to the casserole. It wasn't runny at all. I also added salt, but how much depends on how salty your chicken broth is. My children all thought it was great and nobody stopped with just one serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This recipe is much too wet. Perhaps 1/4 cup of stock?? Also, it seem to need something to thicken it--flour, more cheese, etc?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States