Fresh Asparagus and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I agree with everything Mama Cass said and more. It was runny, the asparagus was hard, and it was bland due to the layering. I will NOT make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Nice flavor, but the asparagus was hard as a rock -- need to cook before adding. Also very runny. Perhaps better to add cream of chicken soup instead of chicken stock? I would also recommend mixing everything together rather than layering to keep the noodles moist and would use salt, pepper, and parmesan in the casserole as well as on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
Bland. Needed salsa to be edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Tasty mild flavor! I enjoyed it, my husband thought it was bland, mabye next time I'll add the oregano a little earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
i didn't have red pepper, so i added chopped tomatoes instead, plus lots of mushrooms. good, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Very easy and quick to prepare and cook. Tasty and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKI JO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This was a bit of a disappointment. It smelled so good while it was cooking, but the end flavor was somewhat bland. I added parmesan cheese while it was cooking, but that didn't quite do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federalsburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
It really wasnt' that good. Not enough flavor and too soupy. Maybe would be better with cream of mushroom soup instead of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lambertville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
Great recipe...by following other reviewer's suggestions and changing/adding a few other things on my own, this is a keeper! For starters, I used at least 10 oz's medium-width egg noodles, 2+ cups chicken, and only 1 cup sour cream. Next time, I'll try 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup cream of mushroom soup to cut down on the fat a little. Along with the onion, I sauteed a small (1/2lb?) box of white mushrooms. I didn't have straight oregano, so I substituted 1 tsp Italian herb mix, along with white pepper, red pepper flakes and seasoned salt to taste. Along with the simmering chicken mixture, I added 1/2 cup canned corn and 1TBSP flour to thicken. Thanx to a great reviewer's tip to speed the recipe up a bit, I did mix noodles, chicken mixture and asparagus all together before adding to the casserole dish;I only added 1/2 lb or so of asparagus because I wasn't sure if my husband and I liked a whole 1lb.! I topped it all off with a Parmesan/Monterey Jack cheese combo and breadcrumbs. It barely fit in a 2 quart casserole dish but aluminum foil lightly folded around the top and edges helped! After cooking it for 30 minutes, the asparagus was still quite crisp, which some people love, but I left it in for 5-10 more minutes...really tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I added chili flakes, fresh garlic, garlic salt, pepper, and half can of cream of mushroom soup. I cut the sour cream to about a 1/2 cup and left out the celery. It was still a tad runny, but it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

This light and tasty pasta is ready in about 30 minutes.

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Chicken breasts are rolled around asparagus and cheese, breaded, and baked.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States